We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service - good stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3630 East Cork Street, Kalamazoo, MI 49001   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Certificate of Excellence
Midland, Michigan
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Friendly service - good stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed in this hotel right after a major snow storm, but had no trouble with area roads or the parking lot. The third floor room was roomy and very clean, with good water pressure and temperature. We could hear the highway noises (just the trucks), but it was very faint and didn't bother us at all. The front desk clerk was very friendly when we checked in. The breakfast buffet the next morning was great (especially the cinnamon rolls!), and the area was kept clean and filled. Our child loved the fresh pancakes, and I enjoyed the large windows over-looking the clean, fresh snow. The sun coming in was refreshing in February! Check out was quick and friendly. We would stay here again when in the area!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KBaker041484, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
We are pleased to know we could accommodate you and your family so comfortably, that is our goal. Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review about your stay, our staff and our facilites, we look forward to being able to accomodate you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    44
    13
    7
    8
See reviews for
35
16
8
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
271 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I booked the hotel late in the day, and was not able to get a room facing away from the noisy I94 highway. My mistake; even with the heater fan on hi, I could hear the non stop traffic on the third floor. It would have been a nice stay if I was on the other side of the hotel. The staff was nice and suggested a place to eat. The breakfast area was very nice and had an above average selection.
I'll find a quieter place next time.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KBaker041484, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
We appreciate the time you have taken to compliment our staff, I do apologize we were not able to accommodate you to the opposite side of the highway. We hope next time you are in kalamazoo you will stay with us again and request opposite side of highway when booking, Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macomb, Michigan
Level Contributor
121 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stay in Kalamazoo 2-3 times a year and tried this hotel for our latest visit. We had a nice experience from beginning to end. Upon arrival the staff was very friendly. Our room was ready early, but it was facing the highway and next to the elevator. The front desk immediately moved us to another available room - thanks, Jennifer!

The room was a good size for a family of three, clean and the water pressure good. The hotel was in the middle of switching out furniture - the 3rd floor was completely done, so no problem for us.

The indoor pool was, by far, the warmest we have experienced. The pool is small and only goes to 5 feet, but it was still great for us.

The breakfast was what you expect with HIExpress: good options, both hot and cold. The eating area was spacious and very clean.

We will stay here again on our next trip to Kalamazoo/WMU. Go Broncos!

Room Tip: Stay on the 3rd floor, opposite side of the highway - quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KBaker041484, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
We appreciate the time you have taken to write your review in regards to your stay with us. We are pleased to know that we were able to accommodate you so comfortably. We look forward to being able to accommodate you again in the future, Let's hear it for WMU!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I have stayed at this location several times and always receive the best service. The staff is always very friendly, and helpful...especially Angel and Abbey. The rooms are in pretty good condition for an older location. The breakfast area is always kept clean and the breakfast is good. I travel a lot for business (2 to 4 nights per week) so I stay in a lot of hotels to compare it to.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KBaker041484, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Many thanks for boasting about us on TripAdvisor! The staff here really do work hard to go above and beyond for every guest every day. We take pride in what we do and your review is truly appreciated more than you may know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine
Level Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Front desk staff were very pleasant and while careful not to endorse, did help with giving us a menu for the restaurant in the adjacent hotel. Breakfast is really so/so, I've had much better at other Holiday Inn Express hotels. Convenient on/off the highway so would stay again but only because of that.

Room Tip: Try to get on the side not facing the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KBaker041484, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
We thank you for your input and for taking the time to post this review. We are making improvements every day and it is the valued feedback from the guest that helps us the most. We look forward to being able to accommodate you on your next trip to Kalamazoo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macomb, Michigan
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The staff was very pleasant and the room was okay. However, the internet went down around 10:00 PM on the night I was there and I checked out around 8:15 AM the next morning and it still wasn't available. I needed the access so this was very inconvenient. I'm sure the front desk was called numerous times and was unable to provide an explanation or a timeline on when it would be back on line.

In addition, I received a recommendation for a restaurant, Bennucci's Chicago Oven & Grill, that was okay at best although they honored the 10% discount for the Holiday Inn Express referral.

Room Tip: If you have to use the internet for business I'd check out other hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KBaker041484, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for submitting a review on TripAdvisor. The hotel was made aware of the internet situation around 8pm on the evening of your reservation. It turned out that the power supply to our wireless access points had fried. We had a replacement overnighted to us and had the internet up and running the following morning around 10am. I know that this did not help in your particular situation, however, I sincerely hope that you will return knowing that the issue has been fixed. Again, thank you for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

the cheap construction of the building results in street noise and sounds from other guest rooms. Breakfast is typical mid-western fare, go early if you want bacon. Prices seem to vary considerably - when I stayed an extra night the rate went up about $10 from the previous night which I had booked on Orbitz. If you have to stay on the east side of Kalamazoo, this is an acceptable, if not outstanding, option.

Room Tip: The Sprinkle Road side is probably slightly quieter than the rooms closed to the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KBaker041484, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share you feedback on TripAdvisor. We appreciate all constructive criticism and do our best to improve based upon it. Once again, thank you for your valued opinion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalamazoo hotels
7.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo
3.5 mi away
Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Kalamazoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Kalamazoo
Hampton Inn Kalamazoo
#1 of 32 in Kalamazoo
4.5 of 5 stars 41 reviews
0.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo
Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo
#5 of 32 in Kalamazoo
4.0 of 5 stars 77 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kalamazoo - Oshtemo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo

Address: 3630 East Cork Street, Kalamazoo, MI 49001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kalamazoo
#10 Business Hotel in Kalamazoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are only minutes from downtown, K-Wings Stadium, Kalamazoo County Expo Center and Fairgrounds as well as the awesome full-motion flight simulators at the Kalamazoo Air Zoo. All our guests enjoy our complimentary Express Start Breakfast. Enjoy warm buttermilk biscuits, one fluffy egg selection, sizzling meat selections, and our trademark mouth-watering cinnamon rolls. Don't forget our one of a kind pancake machine and multiple healthy start options such as yogurt and oatmeal. Our spacious guest rooms feature access to Charter Cable with many HD channels including HBO for your viewing pleasure. We offer free and fast Internet as well as 24 hour access to our business center. Businesses near hotel: Eaton, Consumers Energy, Stryker, Pfizer, as well as Bronson and Borgess Medical Centers. Attractions near hotel: Firekeeper's Casino, The Miller Auditorium, The Crossroads Mall, Kalamazoo County Fairgrounds, Air Zoo, Kalamazoo Institute of the Arts, Kalamazoo Valley Museum, Kalamazoo College and Western Michigan University. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Kalamazoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Kalamazoo Hotel Kalamazoo
Holiday Inn Kalamazoo
Kalamazoo Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.