We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very comfortable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Kalamazoo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Kalamazoo to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Kalamazoo
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3630 East Cork Street, Kalamazoo, MI 49001   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Kabul
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A very comfortable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

The Holiday Inn Experss was choosen on the fly while we were traveling in Michagan.
We just walked in and were able to obtain a resaonable rate at the desk.
The room was not spacious but was large, well decorated and clean. The bed was very comfortable. The staff was very helpful as we requested the location of various sights and resturants. We were give maps and directions. The breakfast buffet was well stocked, had a little of everything and was kept neat and clean. We used the fitness room but not the pool.
Overall the stay was comfortable and restorative.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kalamazoo, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
On behalf of all staff, thank you! It is wonderful to read reviews like this one because it shows that our consistent efforts do not go without notice. Comfort and cleanliness are our top priorities here at the Holiday Inn Express of Kalamazoo. Thanks again for taking time out of your day to help make that known.

We look forward to accommodating you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    41
    13
    7
    7
See reviews for
32
15
8
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland Heights, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

My complaints regard the hotel's location, but the helpfulness of the staff was a definite redeeming quality. The building is near a highway, but the staff kindly accommodated my request for a room on the other side of the building, which proved to be noiseless.

No ATM but staff will direct you to another hotel just across the parking lot.

Staff worked with me for late check out at no cost. As I had no where to go until the evening, I later succeeded getting a partial-night rate to stay until 8pm.

Standard, no-frills complimentary breakfast. Good hot coffee was available all day in the dining area.

King-bed rooms here are substantially larger than king rooms of several less remote Holiday Inns I've stayed in. My living space was clean and comfortable.

The friendliness and will to help of the front desk ladies have guaranteed I'll stay here next time I visit Kalamazoo.

Room Tip: Request a room not facing the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kalamazoo, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
We do our best to specially prepare each room prior to our guest arrival as well as make them feel as comfortable as possible while they are here. A huge thank you for taking the time out of your day to publicly acknowledge our efforts. Holiday Inn Express of Kalamazoo strives to be at the heart of everything we do and will settle for nothing less than to be considered a "Great Hotel that Guest Love".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

Our stay was for business, the room was clean and very comfortable. I wish all the rooms had microwave and refrigerators. My only complaint is after being allowed to have an extension on check out, housekeeping constantly knocked on my door at 9.30am. And on top of that a lady kept yelling laundry loudly up and down the hall. My final issue came when another housekeeper tried to force her way into my room,with her key. I finally had to get out of bed at 9.50am and tell them I was in my room still and even had an extension to check out at 1pm. Now keep in mind all this took place way before there normal checkout time of 12 noon. I was upset and left before 11 am. I wish they would at least honor there own checkout time,before harrassing you to leave.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KBaker041484, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kalamazoo, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. As the General Manager at this property I take full responsibility to ensure that this does not happen again in the future. I have shared this review with staff and we, as a whole, would like to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience posed during your stay.

Once again, Thank you and we hope to accommodate you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

Service was excellent and rooms were clean. Issues were the beds were very lumpy and the hotel was next to the highway. I was here on cinco de mayo for a bowling tournament and I didn't get much sleep. If you want sleep lay on the floor with earplugs because it's loud and the beds are terrible

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KBaker041484, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kalamazoo, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. As you have already stated, this hotel is located next to the highway. However, we do have half of our rooms with windows facing our parking lot which is much less noisy. We understand how you feel about your recent stay and would kindly like to suggest that a request for a quiet room be made for any future visits. This will ensure that the front desk is able to place you in a more accommodating location in the hotel. We also have looked into your feedback about the beds and are considering upgrading our mattresses. Thanks for bringing this to our attention. Every piece of feedback is taken to heart and helps us improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ortonville, Michigan
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Upon entering, the hotel had automatic sliding doors, thank you. I take this for granted until I mistakenly stay at a place with regular doors that slam on your luggage as you try to quickly scoot out the door. All of the staff I encountered were friendly and professional. The hotel was very clean as was my room too. There was a pool, but I didn't use. The fitness room was good, consisting of 2 treadmills, bike, weight machine, tv, towels, and water. I had a room with a king bed which was very comfortable and had five pillows labeled with varying degrees of firmness. Bonus** there were two available outlets next to the bed for charging my phone and tablet. The complimentary breakfast consisted of almost everything: warm cinnamon rolls, pancakes, bacon, eggs, biscuits, gravy, cereals (hot and cold), breads, juices, and coffee. There may have been more offerings, too many to name. I was very pleased. A USA Today newspaper under your door in the morning. I would definitely stay here again when I return on business.

The only drawback at this hotel is that it backs up to the highway, just like all the other hotels nearby. The even numbered rooms are on the highway side, next time I would choose an odd numbered room to see if that could cut down on the constant highway sounds.

Room Tip: Ask for an odd numbered room, which will place you the furthest away from the constant drone of high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KBaker041484, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kalamazoo, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. Getting great feedback from our guests helps in so many ways. I am very glad to hear that the staff made a nice impression. They all sincerely care about our guests and it is comments like this that make it all worth while and rewarding. I am also pleased that you enjoyed the pleantiful breakfast and for sharing your opinions here on TripAdvisor.

As always, we look forward to accommodating you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

The hotel staff is great! Very efficient and friendly. The hotel is nicely maintained and the Internet is super! I had seven wireless Internet options from which to choose. All of them showed a reasonable signal on my iPad! I have never had that before. The room was very clean. Breakfast was up to HI Express standards. The server was excellent. In fact, every employee was helpful and nice. Four pillows per bed; I like that!

There are some things that need attention. Easy fixes. Two of the towels were ripped along the edge. This may sound minor, but it is annoying. The facial tissue was so cheap that it tore as we pulled it out of the dispenser! That may save the hotel $.25 a box, but each customer waste about half of the tissues because of how fragile they are. The two ply toilet paper is another false economy. It was impossible to keep the two plies together. It was more like two rolls of one-ply toilet paper on the same roll.

Overall an excellent value for the price.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KBaker041484, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kalamazoo, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Express of Kalamazoo! I greatly appreciate the constructive feedback and will be making steps towards efficiently taking care of the suggestions provided.

We look forward to accommodating you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

this was my 2nd stay. what brought me back was the front staff desk person jennifer !! the 2nd time was the front staff desk person abby !! karissa you have 2 very good representatives of your Holiday Inn :) these ladies especially will bring me back many more times with their customer service skills and the rest of the staffs attention to detail of both cleanliness and breakfast !

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KBaker041484, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kalamazoo, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
jean m,

Thank you for the great feedback! We look forward to accommodating you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Kalamazoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Kalamazoo

Address: 3630 East Cork Street, Kalamazoo, MI 49001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kalamazoo
#6 Family Hotel in Kalamazoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Kalamazoo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come discover the smoke free Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kalamazoo. We are located off Interstate 94, exit 80 followed by a left turn onto Cork Street. We are only minutes from downtown, K-Wings Stadium, Kalamazoo County Expo Center & Fairground, as well as the awesome full-motion flight simulators at the Kalamazoo Air Zoo. All our guests enjoy the convenience of our Express Start Breakfast , 'Still Free, Now Hot'. Enjoy warm buttermilk biscuits, one fluffy egg selection, one sizzling meat selection, and our trademark, mouth watering cinnamon rolls.Our spacious guest rooms feature access to our Charter Cable with over 70 channels including HBO for your viewing pleasure. We offer free and fast Internet as well as access to our business center.Businesses near hotel: Eatons, Consumers Energy, Stryker, Pfizer, and Bronson and Borgess Medical Centers.Attractions near hotel: Battle Creek s newest attraction, The Firekeeper s Casino, The Miller Auditorium, The CrossRoads Mall, Kalamazoo County Fairgrounds, Kalamazoo College and Western Michigan University.Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Kalamazoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Kalamazoo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Kalamazoo Hotel Kalamazoo
Holiday Inn Kalamazoo
Kalamazoo Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Kalamazoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.