We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like lumpy beds and highway car noise this place is for you” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Kalamazoo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Kalamazoo to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Kalamazoo
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3630 East Cork Street, Kalamazoo, MI 49001   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Kalamazoo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“If you like lumpy beds and highway car noise this place is for you”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

Service was excellent and rooms were clean. Issues were the beds were very lumpy and the hotel was next to the highway. I was here on cinco de mayo for a bowling tournament and I didn't get much sleep. If you want sleep lay on the floor with earplugs because it's loud and the beds are terrible

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KBaker041484, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kalamazoo, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. As you have already stated, this hotel is located next to the highway. However, we do have half of our rooms with windows facing our parking lot which is much less noisy. We understand how you feel about your recent stay and would kindly like to suggest that a request for a quiet room be made for any future visits. This will ensure that the front desk is able to place you in a more accommodating location in the hotel. We also have looked into your feedback about the beds and are considering upgrading our mattresses. Thanks for bringing this to our attention. Every piece of feedback is taken to heart and helps us improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    38
    13
    7
    6
See reviews for
27
15
8
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ortonville, Michigan
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Upon entering, the hotel had automatic sliding doors, thank you. I take this for granted until I mistakenly stay at a place with regular doors that slam on your luggage as you try to quickly scoot out the door. All of the staff I encountered were friendly and professional. The hotel was very clean as was my room too. There was a pool, but I didn't use. The fitness room was good, consisting of 2 treadmills, bike, weight machine, tv, towels, and water. I had a room with a king bed which was very comfortable and had five pillows labeled with varying degrees of firmness. Bonus** there were two available outlets next to the bed for charging my phone and tablet. The complimentary breakfast consisted of almost everything: warm cinnamon rolls, pancakes, bacon, eggs, biscuits, gravy, cereals (hot and cold), breads, juices, and coffee. There may have been more offerings, too many to name. I was very pleased. A USA Today newspaper under your door in the morning. I would definitely stay here again when I return on business.

The only drawback at this hotel is that it backs up to the highway, just like all the other hotels nearby. The even numbered rooms are on the highway side, next time I would choose an odd numbered room to see if that could cut down on the constant highway sounds.

Room Tip: Ask for an odd numbered room, which will place you the furthest away from the constant drone of high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KBaker041484, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kalamazoo, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. Getting great feedback from our guests helps in so many ways. I am very glad to hear that the staff made a nice impression. They all sincerely care about our guests and it is comments like this that make it all worth while and rewarding. I am also pleased that you enjoyed the pleantiful breakfast and for sharing your opinions here on TripAdvisor.

As always, we look forward to accommodating you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

The hotel staff is great! Very efficient and friendly. The hotel is nicely maintained and the Internet is super! I had seven wireless Internet options from which to choose. All of them showed a reasonable signal on my iPad! I have never had that before. The room was very clean. Breakfast was up to HI Express standards. The server was excellent. In fact, every employee was helpful and nice. Four pillows per bed; I like that!

There are some things that need attention. Easy fixes. Two of the towels were ripped along the edge. This may sound minor, but it is annoying. The facial tissue was so cheap that it tore as we pulled it out of the dispenser! That may save the hotel $.25 a box, but each customer waste about half of the tissues because of how fragile they are. The two ply toilet paper is another false economy. It was impossible to keep the two plies together. It was more like two rolls of one-ply toilet paper on the same roll.

Overall an excellent value for the price.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KBaker041484, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kalamazoo, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Express of Kalamazoo! I greatly appreciate the constructive feedback and will be making steps towards efficiently taking care of the suggestions provided.

We look forward to accommodating you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

this was my 2nd stay. what brought me back was the front staff desk person jennifer !! the 2nd time was the front staff desk person abby !! karissa you have 2 very good representatives of your Holiday Inn :) these ladies especially will bring me back many more times with their customer service skills and the rest of the staffs attention to detail of both cleanliness and breakfast !

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KBaker041484, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kalamazoo, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
jean m,

Thank you for the great feedback! We look forward to accommodating you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

The internet at this place rocks! I was able to get download speeds of up to 1MB/s, just like I get at home! Truly outstanding. Anywho, the rest of the place was great, room was clean and comfortable. The only reason I did not give this 5 stars is because the bed was lumpy.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KBaker041484, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kalamazoo, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Thank you for contributing your opinion about the Holiday Inn Express & Suites of Kalamazoo on TripAdvisor. We are very proud of our internet connection. In order to provide the best connection for every guest, we have 6 different access points through out our building. One access point on each end of the hall on each floor. You dont find that in a lot of hotels! This is definitely a plus for business travelers needing to do work or leisure travelers looking to download games/videos.

Come back and use our complimentary blazing fast wireless internet anytime!

We look forward to accommodating you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

I live in Chicago and travel to Michigan to see my dad who has cancer. It is imperative to have a comfortable place to stay, especially since I hate not being in my own bed probably more than the average person. Let me name the perfect things at this hotel: the staff, the room, the cleanliness, the smoke-free status, the mattress, the pillows, the coffee, the internet connection, the flat screen t.v., the ironing board and iron, the swimming pool, the fitness room, and even the breakfast! All for 99.99 on a last minute check-in, can't beat that. Small things that were also good: the smell of the soap and the way the room was very darkened by the curtains at night for good sleeping. The only bad thing was my own lack of forethought: the sun shining directly into my room early in the morning when I didn't go to sleep until 2 a.m. Note to self: room on the other side of the hotel next time. There is a little sound from the expressway if you are sensitive to that but it didn't bother me at all. Let me say again that the staff were super friendly and attentive. Thanks for a great stay and I will be back!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KBaker041484, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kalamazoo, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to boast about us on TripAdvisor! I sincerely appreciate the time you spent reviewing the hotel and all the kind comments you shared. The outlook you had on your stay is exactly what we pride ourselves in.

I understand there are a lot of other choices for accommodation in Kalamazoo and especially appreciate that you chose us. I am forwarding on this wonderful review to the staff. This way they know how great of a job they are doing and to keep up the heartwarming hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois, USA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

As with other hotels in the HI Express chain, this hotel is not fancy but was very clean and comfortable. The front desk staff was very friendly. There was plenty of the breakfast foods and it was very good. The internet worked well and the location is perfect for those passing through - right off of the highway.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KBaker041484, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kalamazoo, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Thank you for the kind review. We pride ourselves in treating every guest like family by greeting them with a warm smile as soon as they arrive to making sure everything is perfect during their stay and wishing them a fond fairwell upon their departure.

We look forward to accommodating you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Kalamazoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Kalamazoo

Address: 3630 East Cork Street, Kalamazoo, MI 49001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kalamazoo
#7 Family Hotel in Kalamazoo
#9 Business Hotel in Kalamazoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Kalamazoo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come discover the smoke free Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kalamazoo. We are located off Interstate 94, exit 80 followed by a left turn onto Cork Street. We are only minutes from downtown, K-Wings Stadium, Kalamazoo County Expo Center & Fairground, as well as the awesome full-motion flight simulators at the Kalamazoo Air Zoo. All our guests enjoy the convenience of our Express Start Breakfast , 'Still Free, Now Hot'. Enjoy warm buttermilk biscuits, one fluffy egg selection, one sizzling meat selection, and our trademark, mouth watering cinnamon rolls.Our spacious guest rooms feature access to our Charter Cable with over 70 channels including HBO for your viewing pleasure. We offer free and fast Internet as well as access to our business center.Businesses near hotel: Eatons, Consumers Energy, Stryker, Pfizer, and Bronson and Borgess Medical Centers.Attractions near hotel: Battle Creek s newest attraction, The Firekeeper s Casino, The Miller Auditorium, The CrossRoads Mall, Kalamazoo County Fairgrounds, Kalamazoo College and Western Michigan University.Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Kalamazoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Kalamazoo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Kalamazoo Hotel Kalamazoo
Holiday Inn Kalamazoo
Kalamazoo Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Kalamazoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.