We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“on the upswing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bank Street Farmer's Market

Bank Street Farmer's Market
1200 Bank Street, Kalamazoo, MI 49001
(269) 337-8899
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 38 things to do in Kalamazoo
Attraction details
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“on the upswing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

like many attractions it is like a pendulum. . years ago was a first rate market. place to go for good value, support local small farmers, ,freshness and quality. Meet old friends, socialize. Then prices went up, quality down., fewer old friends went. fewer shoppers meant , some venders stopped coming , or raised prices to make up for reduced volume? but now i think it is on the upswing . more venders, better quality, prices, and thus more shoppers.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“First class Farmers Market”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

This is a first class Farmers Market. You can find everything "in season" there. There is produce, obviously, but also food to eat, music to listen to, smiling faces, flowers, herbs, plants, dog biscuits, bread, home made soap and deodorant and so much more. Much - but not all the produce - is grown organically, even if they are not certified they practice organic gardening. Just ask. They will tell you. It is open on Saturdays and one day during the week. There is a winter version - obviously less local produce but there are eggs and meat and root vegetables.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fun place to go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We love going there all summer long. You will find lots of locally grown fruits, vegetables plus flowers and plants. We enjoy the live entertainment and the variety of vendors where you can grab a bite for lunch. My only disappointment is that many market items (fruits and vegetables) are from out of state but I avoid those booths completely. It can get crowded but part of the fun is after you are done shopping, sitting and listening to the live entertainment and watching all the people. Fun place!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kalamazoo
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Foodies, check this out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Parking is challenging, the location is out of the way, the market has outgrown its space, but it is still the best Farmers' Market in Michigan by far for variety, diversity, and its emphasis on local and/or organic fruits and veggies as well as a huge variety of locally made foods. I have visited over a dozen other markets and Kalamazoo's is by far the best one, even with all its logistical challenges

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
65 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Enjoy the Vendors & their Products/Services”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Love going to the market and selecting their products - everything is fresh and very delicious - love the pizzas and sauce that I buy every month - the Tamale Guy has great guacamole, the best chips, and home salsa - the other one I love is the ginger and molasses cookies - they are gone for the winter but will be back in April - they are in the hall across the street for the winter - love going there and buying fresh produce, meats, and other items such as their breads, candies, wreathes, etc.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bank Street Farmer's Market also viewed

Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 

Been to Bank Street Farmer's Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bank Street Farmer's Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.