We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Martell's” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Martell's

Martell's
3501 Greenleaf Blvd, Kalamazoo, MI 49008
269-375-2105
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #72 of 291 Restaurants in Kalamazoo
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Martell's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

My wife and I recently went to Martell's for our wedding anniversary. The ambiance of the dining area was very nice, although a little noisy, and we had a great server (Rachel) who was very friendly and prompt. Our meals were very tasty and well presented. I wasn't blown away by anything, but overall it was a good experience and I would go back in the future.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    11
    3
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, OH
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great View, Disappointing Food for the Health Conscious”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The restaurant is lovely and the view of the pond is spectacular. Unfortunately, the menu is a disaster for anyone who likes fresh, healthy food that isn't drenched in sugar and dairy. I've never seen so many salads with sugar coated nuts and cheese. The veggie burger was disgusting and the green beans they put on the side when I requested no bun were drenched in so much butter (which I asked not be included) that they were not edible.

Luckily I don't find myself in Kalamazoo often but you can be sure that the next time I'm there, I won't be eating at Martell's.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Martell's offers a nice menu with many different options. Tried and liked the four cheese ravioli for dinner and the cranberry bread pudding for dessert. Restaurant offers a view of a small lake.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place for a Party”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We invited 17 people for a prefixed menu, and had a private room. Service, food and pricing was great

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Michigan, United States
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“Company Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Went here last night for my husband company dinner. We had a room that would hold a 100 people separated from the other diners. Cocktail hour was nice, I had a strawberry daiquiri and my husband rum and coke. For dinner we were given only four choices, so was sad about that because I wanted to try their pasta. Our choices were Chicken Marsala, Vegetable Strudel, Almond Crusted Pike Perch and Filet Mignon. I chose the Almond Crusted Pike Perch, we were each served the house salad, which was baby field greens with dried apricots, ripe brie, candie walnuts and tangerine vinaigrette. That was one great salad. The Almond Crusted Pike Perch came with a mustard-chive cream sauce so if you don't like mustard you may not like this. I for one liked it alot. Over all dinner was very good and would like to go back some other time.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Martell's also viewed

Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 

Been to Martell's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Martell's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.