We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Candlewood help take the stress out of my relo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3443 Retail Place Drive, Kalamazoo, MI 49048   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Kalamazoo, Michigan
1 review
“Candlewood help take the stress out of my relo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Really enjoyed the nearly 3 months I stayed at the Candlewood in Kalamazoo. All of the staff very nice, polite, and very accomidating to all of my request. The rooms were clean, up to date and well taken care of.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie M, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
When you are away from home, the last thing you need is stress. We are happy that we helped remove the stress from your life! Please visit us again on your next trip to Kalamazoo.

Debbie Mahone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    24
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
11
10
6
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Alabama, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Not a big thing, but the night I got there (Sunday), I was going to do some cooking and noticed that there was no frying pan. I stay at Candelwood's regularly, so I know what it supposed to be there. I called the front desk that night and the very polite female who answered offered to find one that night. I told her not to hurry, tomorrow would be fine. Next day, no pan. Tuesday, no pan, called front desk again. Wednesday, no pan, called again. Thursday, the pan was waiting when I got in from work.
A more disconcerting problem concerned maintenance. My first night I also noticed that the 3-latch lock on the door was only engaging one catch. I gave it several increasingly strong slams trying to get it to latch, but it would not. I also reportted this when I called about the frying pan. Returning the next night (Monday), I used the key card and tried to turn the door handle, but it wouldn't budge. My first thought was that the repair had gone poorly and now the lockset was jammed. I tried it again, and using a great deal of weight, was able to force the handle to open. Apparently, whoever got the call to fix this lockset thought that slamming the hell out of it was the cure. I didn't report this while there. Anybody that ignorant, who has access to my room when I'm away, I didn't want to give a reason to sabotage my room or my things. Maybe just a coincidence, but I got a wake-up call at 4:45 the next morning that I didn't request. I didn't have to be up until 6:00 that day.

Room Tip: Front desk personnel are very good. Communication with other hotel divisions may need work. Took 4 d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Rick C,

Thank you for your detailed review regarding your experience. I truly appreciate your feedback regarding our helpful front desk staff as we pride our selves on excellent customer service. However, we deeply apologize if some aspects of our hotel did not meet your expectations on this day. I am sorry for the inconvenience you experienced with the unacceptable customer service and maintenance services. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.

Thank you again for your review. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I stayed here a while back I just hadn't been able to do this review, but I can say that the people are Great! Always there very helpful. The managers reception is always great! Beds are the best that I have slept on very comfortable. I would come back next time I am in Kalamazoo. I love the location its away from the noise of the city, but safe.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie M, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay, as well as our weekly Manager's Reception. On behalf of our entire Candlewood team, we Thank You!

Debbie Mahone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ovid, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I had the opportunity to stay at Candlewood while attending a 2 day conference. The full kitchen is wonderful! I was able to bring my own food to make instead of having to go out to restaurants. Much healthier! The only complaint I had was the dishwasher did not work during my stay. It was obvious that it had been out of order for quite awhile because it had standing, stinky water in the bottom of it. The maintenance staff did fix it during my stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debbiem12, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, as well as your full kitchen! Our aim is to ensure every guest has a great stay, and we are happy that you did. We do apologize for the inconvenience you encountered with your dishwasher, and are happy that our maintenance technician was able to address the issue. Please visit us again should you return to the Kalamazoo area!

Debbie Mahone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

We had a third floor room. We could clearly hear the TV in the room next to us as we'll as the person walking around the room above us (all night long). Other than that the hotel was fairly new and very clean.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debbiem12, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Though we are pleased that you enjoyed the hotel, we do apologize for the noise issue you encountered. In an attempt to ensure the comfort and relaxation of all of our valued guests, we try to proactively follow up on any noise concerns brought to our attention. I do apologize for the noise you encountered. Again, we do appreicate your choosing to stay with us. We hope to see you again on a future stay.

Debbie Mahone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I called and asked a few questions, the staff was totally understanding and accomodating with me. You can't find a better place to stay to make you feel like you are in a small apartment. blah blah blah blah, enough yet?

Room Tip: Top floor is always the quietest. Far enough from the highway to not hear traffic. I am a day slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debbiem12, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
We whole-heartedly appreciate your heartfelt comments! It brings us no greater joy than for our guests to tell us that we made them feel at home! Honestly, this is the whole spirt of hospitality and the very reason why we open our doors each day. Thank you, Thank you, Thank you! It is our privilege to serve you.

Debbie Mahone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beavercreek, Ohio, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The rooms are large and comfortable. I have used this property in the past and have been very pleased. It has a small pantry and does not provide breakfast. The staff has always been attentive and responsive. The desk space will handle a lap top and small portable printer, makes conducting business easy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debbiem12, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thank you for your positive comments. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and also delighted that you were pleased with our staff! Thanks for choosing Candlewood Suites in Kalamazoo, and we hope to see you again soon!

Debbie Mahone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo

Address: 3443 Retail Place Drive, Kalamazoo, MI 49048
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Kalamazoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand New Extended Stay Hotel in Kalamazoo. Part of the IHG Holiday Inn Family so you get Priority Club Rewards Points for staying with us. We're centrally located right off I-94 exit 80 for Sprinkle Road. Each suite includes a full kitchen with everything you need to start cooking. Each suite also has a 32 inch flat screen TV, wired and wireless hi speed internet for free, free fitness and business center and free laundry facilities. Food and beverages available onsite in our Candlewood Cupboard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo Hotel Kalamazoo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.