We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo

Save Saved
You added Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3443 Retail Place Drive, Kalamazoo, MI 49048   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 31 hotels in Kalamazoo
Ovid, Michigan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I had the opportunity to stay at Candlewood while attending a 2 day conference. The full kitchen is wonderful! I was able to bring my own food to make instead of having to go out to restaurants. Much healthier! The only complaint I had was the dishwasher did not work during my stay. It was obvious that it had been out of order for quite awhile because it had standing, stinky water in the bottom of it. The maintenance staff did fix it during my stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debbiem12, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, as well as your full kitchen! Our aim is to ensure every guest has a great stay, and we are happy that you did. We do apologize for the inconvenience you encountered with your dishwasher, and are happy that our maintenance technician was able to address the issue. Please visit us again should you return to the Kalamazoo area!

Debbie Mahone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    17
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
9
9
6
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Detroit
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

We had a third floor room. We could clearly hear the TV in the room next to us as we'll as the person walking around the room above us (all night long). Other than that the hotel was fairly new and very clean.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debbiem12, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Though we are pleased that you enjoyed the hotel, we do apologize for the noise issue you encountered. In an attempt to ensure the comfort and relaxation of all of our valued guests, we try to proactively follow up on any noise concerns brought to our attention. I do apologize for the noise you encountered. Again, we do appreicate your choosing to stay with us. We hope to see you again on a future stay.

Debbie Mahone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I called and asked a few questions, the staff was totally understanding and accomodating with me. You can't find a better place to stay to make you feel like you are in a small apartment. blah blah blah blah, enough yet?

Room Tip: Top floor is always the quietest. Far enough from the highway to not hear traffic. I am a day slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debbiem12, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
We whole-heartedly appreciate your heartfelt comments! It brings us no greater joy than for our guests to tell us that we made them feel at home! Honestly, this is the whole spirt of hospitality and the very reason why we open our doors each day. Thank you, Thank you, Thank you! It is our privilege to serve you.

Debbie Mahone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beavercreek, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The rooms are large and comfortable. I have used this property in the past and have been very pleased. It has a small pantry and does not provide breakfast. The staff has always been attentive and responsive. The desk space will handle a lap top and small portable printer, makes conducting business easy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debbiem12, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thank you for your positive comments. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and also delighted that you were pleased with our staff! Thanks for choosing Candlewood Suites in Kalamazoo, and we hope to see you again soon!

Debbie Mahone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I enjoyed my room, the friendly individual that was so helpful. Candlewood had the necessary items I needed to make my stay very enjoyable. I would and already have recommended Candlewood to a couple of friends. Yes, I would look forward to my traveling and know where I would first inquiry. This was first time as a guest, may I reassure you that it won't be a last.

Thank you again for your hospitality.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debbiem12, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
On behalf of our entire Candlewood team --- many thanks for your kind words! Our aim is to ensure that EVERY guest enjoys EVERY stay, EVERY day. We are happy that you did! Also, we thank you for recommending us to your friends. Please visit us again on your next visit to Kalamazoo!

Debbie Mahone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Convenient location, close to highway exits yet very quiet. We enjoyed our room while visiting family in Kalamazoo. Very clean and comfortable. We've stayed here in the past and enjoy the comfort and layout of the rooms. We even were asked if we wanted to upgrade to a one bedroom suite but declined as we found the room we had was more than ample for our two-day stay. I especially liked the room darkening shades to block out the light as I am sensitive to light when sleeping.

Room Tip: These suites are nice enough for extended stays while vacationing in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debbiem12, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thanks for your wonderful comments. We are happy to have been able to accommodate you during the visit with your family! Please stay with us again on your next trip to Kalamazoo. Your Candlewood "family" thanks you!

Debbie Mahone
General Manager
Candlewood Suites-Kalamazoo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Truly up to the high standards of the Candlewood chain: extremely clean, and a perfect little kitchen with full-size fridge. We liked it's quiet location, especially being so near to I-94.
The gentleman who checked us in was very nice and had a witty reply to my question when I asked what time they rolled-out the breakfast buffet: he said that their breakfast sandwiches (from their lobby pantry) are available 24x7 and are very tasty when microwaved by us up in our room!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debbiem12, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
We are pleased and delighted that you were happy with your accommodations and with the "witty reply" of our Guest Services Associate (Michael)! When I shared your cheerful comments with him ..... that gave him such a chuckle and made his day! Our entire Candlewood family thanks you for your stay!

Debbie Mahone
General Manager
Candlewood Suites-Kalamazoo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo

Address: 3443 Retail Place Drive, Kalamazoo, MI 49048
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Kalamazoo
#8 Business Hotel in Kalamazoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand New Extended Stay Hotel in Kalamazoo. Part of the IHG Holiday Inn Family so you get Priority Club Rewards Points for staying with us. We're centrally located right off I-94 exit 80 for Sprinkle Road. Each suite includes a full kitchen with everything you need to start cooking. Each suite also has a 32 inch flat screen TV, wired and wireless hi speed internet for free, free fitness and business center and free laundry facilities. Food and beverages available onsite in our Candlewood Cupboard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, BookIt.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo Hotel Kalamazoo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.