We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quiet and pleasant.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2575 S 11th Street, Kalamazoo, MI 49009   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Kalamazoo
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wyandotte, Michigan
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Nice quiet and pleasant.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Room was huge! Staff pleasant and accommodating. My room was a suite which is nice on a business trip. Comfortable mattress and clean sheets. Took a while to get hot water to my room. The PC in the lobby with the printer was nice since I needed to print some documents for work.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenHatto, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Hi Denise,

Thank you for your comments, we really appreciate your feedback. We are happy to offer some of the largest rooms in our area, and are glad to hear that you found the space comfortable. I am glad you were able to make use of the business center, if you return this will always be available 24-hours per day.

Thanks again, we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    42
    30
    22
    15
See reviews for
61
30
7
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan, Usa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We take a yearly trip to visit family and have stayed at this property a few times. Over the past few years, there has been a gradual downgrade in its quality. The rooms are OK, but getting a little worn. The staff will help if you ask, but don't go out of their way to be helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenHatto, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Hi Jamie,

Thank you for taking your time to review our property. We appreciate your continued business over the past few years, and hope you keep coming back. We are in the process of making some improvements and upgrades to our guest rooms, and I hope that you notice this upon your next visit. We will continue to work on training the staff to serve your needs, and appreciate your comments. If I can be of any assistance with future reservations, or you would like to elaborate on your comments, please feel free to contact me directly.

Thanks again,

Steven Hatto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I was here with a group for 3 nights. The check in staff was extremely friendly and polite. The room itself was adequate but we were one of the lucky ones. The suites varied dramatically in size and layout and we all reserved the same type of rooms. Some had dividing walls, some had stove tops, etc. The 'business center' computers worked well and were hooked up to a free printer, which was a nice touch. It snowed the entire weekend we were there and the staff did a good job keeping shoveling and plowing. And most importantly, we were not the Best Western that was all over the news the weekend we were there because of a police shooting that took place in the lobby.

Here are the problems the members of my parties experienced:

1. Many of us experienced the water coming out of the faucets BROWN at first.
2. One family found a BED BUG ! To give the hotel credit they moved them immediately and were extremely responsive and took the matter seriously.
3. My room was only 'semi-made' up one day. It was strange- as if the staff left in the middle. One bed was made. New towels in the bathroom - but other towels but the other bed was not made up at all and the shower wasn't cleaned.
4. One family had their lock DIE as they were checking out. The manager on site had to call someone off site to let them in their room. Many of us had keys that were finicky in their locks.
5. Breakfast was just so so- without a lot of options.
6. Elevator was extremely slow.
7. Free Wi-Fi was intermittent and slow.

Even though its not a suite hotel I would recommend the Holiday Inn next door. Apparently Best Westerns are independently owned and operated. You can tell this is not franchise run and I will keep this in mind the next time I am looking for somewhere to stay.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here check for bed bugs, ask for a room away from the elevator, and be aware tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenHatto, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time you leave your feedback on our property, we appreciate your comments and suggestions for improvement. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and for telling us the comments that your other members in your group offered. Any complaints regarding bugs in the room, we take very seriously and with high importance, I am glad to hear that your friends concerns we addressed immediately. We have never had a problem with pest in our guest rooms, but we will always call in professionals to inspect upon any guest request.

If you ever require additional housekeeping please do not hesitate to let the front desk staff know, and we will be happy to accommodate any requests. Although Best Western hotels are all independently owned, this is common with all hotel brands, and we are always looking for ways to improve and appreciate your feedback.

I can also assure you that our area of Kalamazoo and hotel are very safe, and any disturbances at other hotels in different areas of town are not common in our neighborhood.

Thank you again for your business and time,

Steven Hatto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I stayed here with a big group of friends, i am well into my 20's, but when my friends, Girlfriend's, friend, i know a mouth full, but none the less was turning 21, we had to party in a hotel, because many of us were an hour or more away and we wanted to stay safe. We had rooms across from each other and i found the suits we stayed in a great value for the price. The breakfast was not bad, they did have some hot items, but no a buffet by any means. I would stay here again, and i have stayed here before this date. They even gave me a late check out. The only thing that i was not happy about was when i checked out and the lady behind the desk was short informing me of the check out time. I told her i had a late check out and she looked at the paperwork and notice that i did, so all was ok, but she was rude, but one person should not take down everything else.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenHatto, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Hi Jonathan,

Thanks for taking the time to review the property and leave your comments. We appreciate your business in the past, and hope to see you again in the future. We are always happy to offer a little later check-out if needed, just let us know. I hope that you enjoyed your most recent visit, and your friend had a great birthday.

Thanks again,

Steven.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We were very disappointed The bed was all worn out, The hot tub had Black mold everywhere and would not turn on, and there was dust and dirt all over the room. We originally booked a two night stay but could not suffer through another grueling night.

Room Tip: Don't waste your money or time stay downtown at the Radisson.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites

Address: 2575 S 11th Street, Kalamazoo, MI 49009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Kalamazoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites, a newly renovated all-suites property located in southwest Michigan. This Kalamazoo hotel features 64 well-appointed suites, each fully-equipped with cable satellite television, microwave, refrigerator, and free high-speed Internet access. Guests will enjoy a delicious complimentary continental breakfast each morning before taking a dip in the indoor heated swimming pool and hot tub. Additional amenities include a fitness center, guest laundry, full business services and meeting/banquet facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Best Western and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Kalamazoo Hotel Kalamazoo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.