We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2575 S 11th Street, Kalamazoo, MI 49009   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #15 of 31 hotels in Kalamazoo
GreenLeadersBronze level
Write a Review

134 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    41
    29
    15
    12
See reviews for
55
25
7
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cadillac, Michigan, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The room was a very good value. We appreciated it being animal friendly and conveniently located. It was comfortable and clean. I would definitely stay again. The continental breakfast was a plus value

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenHatto, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Robert W.,

Wow! Thank you so much for taking your time to leave a review of our property. We appreciate your kind comments, and hope to welcome you back again in the future. Feel free to always inquire about the availability of one of our pet friendly rooms, and we will be happy to accommodate your needs. We always offer the complimentary breakfast, and are going to continue to look for ways to expand and enhance your breakfast experience.

Thanks Again!

-Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We are more Hampton-Inn types, but when driving to Chicago or even visiting our alma mater, this hotel is the top choice. It's an incredible value, and the kids love the breakfast buffet and pool, where the staff doesn't hover over the kids and yell at them for going in the hot tub. It's easy to get to from the highway but set in a quiet street, and the colleges are close. The suite rooms are very nice. The staff is great. We paid $100, which is incredible for a good room that includes breakfast. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: book a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenHatto, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments!

We appreciate you taking your time to review our property, and are glad to hear how much your family enjoyed our hotel. Be sure to mention the WMU Discount on your future stays, as this is always offered for students, family, and graduates. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our pool and hot-tub, and I wanted to let you know that we also just refinished these, I am sure you will enjoy the new appearance and feel.

Take Care,

-Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Canoe, Georgia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This suite facility looked better on the outside than it was on the inside, although a large tub sitting ontop of a patio table with dozens of cigarette butts is not a good way to greet guests. Over the past 15 years we always selected BW's, but after a few bad experiences tended to go elsewhere most recently. But when we learned that BW had begun rating their hotels with three levels we were anxious to experience this facility since it is one of their top-rated. We were disappointed! This facility was either built cheaply, or it had a very poor remodeling. First thing we noticed was that the floors were not level and creaked terribly. In addition the noise from the equally creaky floors above was disturbing. Fortunately there were no kids above us! The bathroom remodel was sloppy at best with a messy paint job and over-use of caulking to "resolve" maintenance problems. The redo of the bathroom floor was equally sloppy, obviously done by someone who didn't know what they were doing when laying tile. Center section of the suite was large with sofa but it didn't even have lighting if you wanted to relax and read. In addition the carpeting appeared in need of a cleaning and the mattress could only be described as lumpy. We looked forward to staying at a PLUS location but found it to be nothing more than a poorly contructed shell which has experienced a terrible face-lift. We were with a group of about 15 others and the comments from others while at breakfast sounded very similar to what we were thinking. We won't be returning.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downers Grove
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The room was big and clean but the pool and hot tub were dirty. We were visiting our daughter at K-Zoo for the weekend. The location is about a 10 min. drive away, not too bad. When we checked in, nobody was at the front desk and waited for about 10 minutes until someone finally came to the desk. Other people were waiting behind me. I was not aware that breakfast was included, what a treat. There were many options: bagels, cereal, muffins, waffles, bacon, eggs, etc.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenHatto, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thanks for your comments,

We appreciate you taking your time to let us know what you liked about our property, as well as where we can improve. I would like to apologize on behalf of the staff for your wait at check-in. Although we do have 24 hour staff at the hotel front desk, unfortunately they do get called away from the desk at times, but I understand your frustration in waiting. I wanted to also let you know that during the month of December, we cleaned, repaired, resurfaced, and pained our pool and hot tub, and I am sure you would be happy with the results. I am glad to hear that you were pleasantly surprised by the complimentary breakfast, which is offered free of charge every day of the year.

We would love to see you again during your next stay in Kalamazoo, please feel free to contact me directly if you are in need of any assistance in making reservations.

Regards,

Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I spend a lot of nights in hotels every year. It is always a pleasure to find one that I think of as "home". The building itself is set in a nice, quiet, woodsy area

This is a first class hotel set in a nice, quiet, woodsy area From the pleasant desk staff to the comfort of the rooms, it is a nicely run and maintained place. I have stayed in several different style rooms (king suite w/jacuzzi, king suite, and queen w/jacuzzi) and each one was clean, cozy and comfy.

Breakfast in the morning is served in their common area. The usual hotel breakfast fare, but well done.

For the business traveler, their free wifi is fast and very solid.

Like I said, this is one of my favorite places anywhere to stay. This would be a place I would choose for business or a getaway.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenHatto, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you very much for choosing the BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites! We truly appreciate your kind comments, and continued business during your travels to the area. Thank you for your comments on the cleanliness of the rooms, we understand how important it is to receive a comfortable and clean room while away from home. I am also glad to hear that the internet has worked out well for you. Today's traveler needs to have quality internet connections at all times, and we will continue to offer the fastest speeds offered by our provider.

Thanks you again for your business,

The entire BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites

Address: 2575 S 11th Street, Kalamazoo, MI 49009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Kalamazoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites, a newly renovated all-suites property located in southwest Michigan. This Kalamazoo hotel features 64 well-appointed suites, each fully-equipped with cable satellite television, microwave, refrigerator, and free high-speed Internet access. Guests will enjoy a delicious complimentary continental breakfast each morning before taking a dip in the indoor heated swimming pool and hot tub. Additional amenities include a fitness center, guest laundry, full business services and meeting/banquet facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Kalamazoo Hotel Kalamazoo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.