We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Choose this one” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Jackson

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Jackson to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites Jackson
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2395 Shirley Drive, Jackson, MI 49202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Jackson
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Choose this one”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

Lots of hotels in the area. This was a good price and the Marriott name is reliable. Room was clean, and staff was wonderful. They called to make sure our room was satisfactory, and were attentive to our every need. If I had to pick a couple of complaints - walls are really thin. So, if you get on a floor with kids, you might be disturbed. Also, kids were (at first) allowed to swim during the 10pm-12am adults only time. They were diving and parents brought in alcohol. All rule violations.

All in all, Is gladly stay here again

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    19
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
21
7
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for three nights as we had a son's wedding in the area. The rooms were large,clean, and considering the 104 degree cool! In all we reserved 4 rooms and had had family and friends in 5 or 6 others. Considering the changes, the demands we made, and the general confusion we caused, the staff handled it all without batting an eye. Kudos to Missy, Tylee,and the rest of the staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacksonFF_GM, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Jackson, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Dear Jennapea,



I cannot thank you enough for all of your kind words about your recent stay with us! It truly means a lot to our staff to see that all of their hard work and determination pays off. We strive to make everyone feel as welcome and comfortable as possible at every moment of their stay, and you are proof that we are doing something right! I would, however, like to apologize for your noise complaints and want to assure you that we are addressing these issues to insure that other guests are not disturbed during their time with us. As our renovation progresses, we will be working even harder to maintain this goal, and are very excited to reveal the end product! We hope that you book with us in the future so that you may also enjoy the “new” Fairfield Inn & Suites!

Missy Brooks
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
troy, MI
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

I am a little bit of a hotel snob and was worried I would not be happy when we we were first walking in. The hotel looked outdated and signs of rennovation everywhere had me worried. Nothing to worry about!

Tylee was awesome from the time we checked in letting us know she would have freshly made cookies out in 20 minutes to informing us of breakfast times and allowing us to ask questions regarding our "block" of rooms without making us feel like we were bothering her. She was very accomdating to us letting us sit in the lobby/breakfast area to eat pizza and visit one night for several hours and we probably drove her nuts because there were probably 20 people there but again, no attitude. She gave us pizza coupons and let us have a good time and even gave us plate, napkins and cups for our pizza party. She was also nice a polite when she called our room due to a noise complaint (which was NOT us because we were already in bed).

The room was clean. Very outdated but there were signs every where stating they were just starting renovations. The bed was comfy. Perfect amount of room for the 4 of us (2 adults and 2 kids ages 11 and 14). We had a microwave and fridge. Another family did NOT have the fridge and microwave but Tylee said once they are all converted to suites all 2 queen rooms will have them.

Breakfast was VERY good considering it is just a help yourself continental. There were cereals, make your own waffles, breakfast sandwichs, muffins, fruit, yogurt, etc. The basics plus a few extras to satisfy just about anyone. A HUGE thank you to Robin who worked the breakfast this morning. We didn't get home from our softball game until 1am and wound up sleeping in this morning. We got down there 15 minutes after they should have closed. Robin was nice and gracious and allowed our family to grab some food even though she was cleaning up and ready to lock everything up. She was friendly and smiled and we appreciate it. She could have told us "no" or gave us an attitude but she did not! Thanks again Robin!

Only reason I didn't give 5 stars is noise was horrible and the pool is very small. The floors and celining and room doors are paper thin. NO fault of the staff but kept us up half the night with teams coming and going at all hours. If you are staying in Jackson, STAY HERE!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012 via mobile

After a long drive through snow, it was a relief to enter our clean and large room (the king larger room). It had a largish compact fridge and microwave but no in-room safe. For the budget level of Marriott it was nice and had been kept up to date. Good breakfast with yogurts, fruit, waffles, juice, coffee, pastries, etc. Very nice front desk!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

We came to Jackson to spend the weekend with friends. However, they got sick with the flu so we had to find a hotel for a couple nights. Fairfield Inn fit the bill.

What we liked about Fairfield:

- Top notch breakfast. Probably the best I have had at any hotel. Real butter, waffles, sausage biscuits, biscuits & gravy, bagels, etc.

- Nice extras. Coffee & Hot Chocolate in the waiting area for anytime fill up. (My wife loved this feature). Fresh baked cookies & newspaper.

- Clean, new room, with a large TV. Bed was comfortable.

- Great service and friendly staff.

What could have been better:
- TV did not have a on screen guide to show what was on (most hotels don't have this).
- Pool area had strong smell of Chlorine. I am sensitive to this, so it may not bother most people but I would have had trouble swimming if we had chosen to.

Overall a great experience. Would highly recommend it and plan to stay again, if our friends get the flu next time. :)

Room Tip: On any hotel, the rooms on the third floor are usually nicer because they are used less.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We spent almost a week here while visiting family, using Marriott points for one room and $$ for the other. The king room had a sofa and plenty of space, and the room with two queen beds was adequate. Both rooms were clean with comfy beds, had fridges and microwaves and flat screen TVs, and we didn't have a single problem. We didn't notice any noise at all, either from the other rooms or outside. The air conditioning unit did have to labor a bit in the heat, but it wasn't overly loud and did a god job keeping things as cold as we wanted. Breakfast was fine - love the make-your-own waffles. Plenty of variety but sometimes hard to find a place to sit, which is typical of almost every hotel with this type of service. I didn't find any problems with the wifi - no slowness or difficulty with the connection. There is a small gym in a room right next to the pool. The pool and hot tub were clean and though sometimes busy, you could easily find times when no one else was there. Staff was friendly and efficient. Cookies at the desk are yummy and hot coffee is on tap 24 hours. Location: the only walkable destination is the Red Lobster across the street. This hotel is located just off one busy highway that intersects with an even busier highway just a short distance away. Do not attempt to walk anywhere else! A short drive south on 127 will bring you to a large strip mall with Target, Sears, movie theaters and plenty of other stores and restaurants (on the right), and a Starbuck's (on the left). In the same building as Starbuck's is a Quizno's and AKA Sushi. Further into the city in the downtown area you can find the Jackson Coffee Co., with great coffee and a relaxing lounge upstairs with free wifi. Also recommend the Ella Sharp Museum - there was an Ansell Adams exhibition while we were there.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

The staff from the front desk to the GM are exceptional. And that should have been the focus of my review.

Unfortunately, I need to work evenings when I stay in Jackson. And the internet connection here is very very very poor.

I've run www.speedtest.net tests on multiple occasions. And the internet speed is NEVER above 512k. Seriously? My home internet service is 20Mbps.

I know that this property is not owner by Marriott Corp, so I'm not sure anything can be done to bring this essential service up to par.

If there was a Marriott option within 10 miles I'd never stay here. But there's not. Do I really need to lose my Platinum status because I can't work from the Fairfield Inn?!?!?

It's 2011 guys, a good internet connection isn't a luxury any more!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Jackson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Jackson

Address: 2395 Shirley Drive, Jackson, MI 49202
Location: United States > Michigan > Jackson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Jackson 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Jackson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Jackson Hotel Jackson
Fairfield Jackson
Jackson Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Jackson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.