We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HORRIBLE - JUST DISGUSTING” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Avalon Hotel & Conference Center

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jackson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Avalon Hotel & Conference Center
Save
You added Avalon Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
2000 Holiday Inn Drive, Jackson, MI 49202   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Jackson
Sterling Heights, Michigan
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“HORRIBLE - JUST DISGUSTING”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

We stayed here for a basketball tournament at the RAC. This place is the most disgusting hotel (dump) I have ever stepped foot in - I'd rather pitch a tent and sleep outside than EVER stay here again. Pool was nasty, ceiling tiles hanging down, paint peeling, ants in the bed, stains and gum caked on the floors in the rooms, hottub was green and cloudy, smelled bad, tubs didnt drain, faulty electrical wiring, crackheads all over the place, AND I COULD GO ON AND ON....just unreal. In addition, lady at the front desk was clearly on drugs - she was spaced out and continued to answer the phone as some girl stood in the lobby with her foot bleeding and ripped open from the nasty pool...she didnt even acknowledge the girl and her mother as they asked for band-aids. There were drug deals going on in the hotel at night and poor slum families that lived here and stole your stuff if you turned your back (yes they stole a football and attempted to steal air jordan sandals of one of the boys we were with). HORRIBLE FILTHY DISGUST - would have left and went to another hotel if we had a choice, but they were all sold out due to a bowling tournament in town as well - we were forced to endure 2 nights here for...$80 A NIGHT! INSANE! To sum it up, this place should be condemned and converted to a landfill.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    4
    0
    0
    23
See reviews for
9
Couples
0
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Michigan
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

This was the worst place we have ever held a training session at. The place was filthy, they didn't provide the food or equipment that was requested, we anticipated 35 people and they set up for 12, we spent too much time trying to get more tables/chairs set up and the manager had to run to the store to get water. They ran out of food and the service was absolutely horrible. The only good this about this place was the location. They definitely should not imply they specialize in conferences because it couldn't have been further from the truth!! If you are planning an event - DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME OR MONEY WITH THIS PLACE!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jackson hotels

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011 via mobile

Today I went there with family and it was terrible!! The pool was disgusting, full of dirt, it looked like it had never been cleaned!! Our room was bad too! There were peparoni's behind the dressers, the garbage can was full, and the lamps didnt work at all! So we got our money back and left. We were very disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

From the potholes in the parking lot to the ceiling tiles DANGLING over the pool...just stay away from this place. The smoke detector in our room was hanging by its wires. The side door is unsecure (card reader broken) so anyone can walk in there. I can't believe this place hasn't been condemned. We left a few hours after checking in.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

After reading the reviews of the hotel I was apprehensive about staying here. When I checked it out I was pleasantly surprised at what they have done. The common areas as well as most of the rooms have been repaired/remodeled and everything looks really good. The hotel is under new management, and the staff is very professional and courteous and they cannot do enough for the guests. I have been a guest here for over a month and I do not have one negative comment on my experience.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010 via mobile

Just for every one to know, this hotel is a joke and not worth 100 dollars a nite. All thou there were activities for the kids it is terriable. Our room had wall paper falling of, mold on walls,busted lock, yern on the bathroom floor, ripped carpet throughout, busted tiles, dirty bedding nats and a terrible smell. Not to mention the management was terriable and rude. Only gave us thirty dollars back and never once came to inspect the room himself. What a joke. Stay clear of this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wahpeton, North Dakota
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

The hotel was one giant rathole, from all the stains and ceiling panels falling out in pool area to the cardboard duct taped over a broken window and vending machines out of order and tore apart. The second floor wasn't even being used or should not have been if it was and they still cranked up the prices for race weekend.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avalon Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 2000 Holiday Inn Drive, Jackson, MI 49202
Location: United States > Michigan > Jackson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avalon Hotel is a mid-scale hotel with all amenities of a full service hotel,located 1 mile from major restaurants and shopping. Offering a indoor pool with hot tub, putt-putt golf, toddlers play area, pool/ping-pong tables,arcade and a fitness center. Banquet/meeting rooms available for all range of set-up. Truck parking available. CLC welcome. Phat Daddy's Lounge located Onsite. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel Jackson
Avalon Hotel And Conference Center

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avalon Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.