We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A magical place in The heart of Nova Scotia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Big Lake Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Big Lake Motel to your Saves list
Big Lake Motel
5849 Prospect Rd., Big Lake, Nova Scotia B3Z 3T8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Big Lake
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A magical place in The heart of Nova Scotia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We've really enjoyed our stay in the Big Lake area, the staff was welcoming and forthcoming, willing to tend to our every need. We also enjoyed the food, and overall - a great experience! The rooms are clean, and the view from our room was spectacular.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    5
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

This was our second stay. It was great the first time, and although it wasn't as great this time it was still good. The breakfast is good, the patio and view from rooms are good, and the rooms are comfortable and clean (think large B&B rather than motel, as it does have a more homey feel which is nice). Beds are comfortable and the rooms clean; I'd recommend the honeymoon suite for families as it has a queen and a pull out, as well as a large jacuzzi tub which is fun for them.

The negatives: the room no longer has a TV (at least my room), although I was only there one night and was out in Peggy's Cove anyway), and they were not providing shampoo (at least when I was there), although the staffer offered me her own.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We spent two nights here during our visit to the Peggy's Cove area. The girl who checked us in was friendly and efficient...and even offered to help carry our bags to our room ( there is no elevator). The room was spacious and VERY clean! The queen bed was very comfortable and the linens in the bathroom were fluffy and soft! The view was simply outstanding and we could enjoy it from the deck outside our room. Breakfast was just enough for travelling...cereal, yogurt, fresh fruit and bread along with coffee /tea and juice. Big Lake Hotel is an absolute treasure!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracebridge
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

My husband and I happened upon this Gem by chance. It was getting late and we were tired from driving and happened to see the signs along the way advertising the Big Lake Motel. We arrived to be greated by a very nice young woman who asked if we would like to see the room before making a decision. We accepted and were both blown away by the beautiful room!! The furniture is all pine and the quilt on the bed made the place feel so homey. The views from the upper deck were unbelievable. Both the sheets and towels were soft and smelled like they had been laundered with care. Our continental breakfast was enjoyable and would only make the suggestion that they add some pastries or muffins. This was a wonderful place to stay..clean,quiet,and very scenic. We will definately stay here again!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

We were just passing by, but turned the car round when we saw the verandah overlooking the lake and booked in for the 2 nights we had available. The owner, Doran was coping alone till his daughter arrives to help out, so the restaurant was not
open, or likely to be so. The owner is very helpful, friendly and talkative. The room and the bathroom are small, but charmingly appointed. The TV service hadn't yet been switched on for the season, which we didn't mind at all, after all the views and sunsets were amazing and right there. There was wifi, strongest in the restaurant. Breakfast is continental with the brilliant idea of an individual toaster on your table. The owner is very obsessed with cleanliness and I can understand the person who thought this led to a smell of cleaning fluid; I persuaded Doran not to use the strong-smelling pine stuff on our wooden floor while we were there, but some rooms are carpeted and this wouldn't arise anyway.
The picturesque Peggy's Cove is nearby and the drive down to it must be one of the loveliest anywhere. Local lobsters are great too.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyack, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

We stayed for two nights . It was one of the best places we ever stayed. Room was VERY CLEAN and bed was really good !.The couple managed the place was very helpful and very nice. We had a great Breakfast inthe dining room facing the lake. Our stay was too short ! We certanly will be back soon. Fully reccommanded place to stay- 5minutes from Peggys on a beatiful charming spot !

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the lake ! you can get mini fridge free of charge to keep food and beer! Suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby Township, Michigan
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

Tripadvisor is a great tool for finding nice places to stay. We stayed at several recommended places on a recent trip with great success. We found the reviews to be very accurate. But our visit to this motel was a disappointing exception.

Based upon prior reviews we were eagerly looking forward to a planned three night visit. We arrived (on a midweek day) to find the doors locked and called the posted telephone number. After someone arrived, we discovered that our reservation had been lost and we were not expected. We provided a copy of email correspondence confirming a reservation and registered for our stay.

Upon settling into our room, we discovered several disappointing factors that led us to leave and find an alternate motel. The room was badly in need of repair. The blinds were broken and didn't allow us to see the nice view out the window. The television provided only two static filled channels. The bed included only sheets and a thin blanket (no quilt or bedspread.) Worst of all was a very strong, unpleasant smell (perhaps some type of cleaning product?)

To be fair, the room was clean. The young couple operating the motel was very nice and apologetic for the confusion regarding our reservation. They offered to help with our luggage (there are stairs to climb) and provided water bottles. (It was a warm day. I'm not sure there was air conditioning, if this is an issue for you.)

We were offered another room, but we had already made our decision and secured an alternate room in Halifax. My wife was also uncomfortable because it appeared that we would be the only guests at the motel. There was no problem obtaining a refund.

The location is truly beautiful and we were very disappointed because we had been so looking forward to our stay. Indicative of the current situation was that the restaurant was closed and had not been opened this year due to some type of management issue.

Compared to other reviewers, perhaps we were just unlucky with our reservation and got a lousy room. But I regretfully cannot recommend a stay at this motel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Big Lake Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Lake Motel

Address: 5849 Prospect Rd., Big Lake, Nova Scotia B3Z 3T8, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Big Lake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Big Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE LONG-DISTANCE CALLS & FREE WiFi INTERNET!!! The ONLY Hotel-Motel in the area! We are with "CANADA APPROVED- Quality First PROGRAM"! Fully licensed! The BEST in the area! PLS read reviews! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Big Lake Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Lake Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.