We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast options, clean room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Magnuson Country Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Magnuson Country Inn to your Saves list
Magnuson Country Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   850 US Highway 41 W, Ishpeming, MI 49849   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ishpeming
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Great breakfast options, clean room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

The floor is a little weird/loud and our room sink faucet needs to be adjusted, but room was clean and beds comfy. Breakfast is at the restaurant next door and includes a couple different free options to choose from or you can get $3 off one of their regular meals. I thought the breakfast options were good and we all left more than satisfied!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryVillage49849, General Manager at Magnuson Country Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thanks for the review and kind words. I will let the restaurant staff know you enjoyed your breakfast and we look forward to seeing you again real soon.

Ryan L.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    32
    22
    9
    3
See reviews for
43
14
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Escanaba, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Dog friendly, and you can smell it the moment you walk in the door.
Rooms smelled and carpets were gross. Pool area dirty and old with no room to sit for your family poolside, very small.
No continental breakfast in the hotel.
Once at the hotel you pretty much have to stay in your room.
There is no area to sit or hang out.
If it wasn't the only major hotel in this city, they would never be booked.
I would not suggest this hotel for large families or sport teams at all.

Room Tip: I really wouldn't
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryVillage49849, General Manager at Magnuson Country Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thanks for the review. I apologize your stay didn't meet your expectations. We will work towards doing better in the future. RL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

The luggage cart wheels and the bunching of the 1st floor carpeting made it very difficult to get a fully loaded cart to our room. Older BW, so no in-room fridge and no onsite breakfast. Front desk staff was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryVillage49849, General Manager at Magnuson Country Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thanks for the review. We are in the process of adding micro-fridges and also an on site breakfast area in the near future. We also have a major renovation planned that will give the property a nice facelift. RL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Peoria, IL, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Was a good value for the price with the exception of an inoperative bathroom exhaust fan. The wires were disconnected and protruding from the fan cover. It was reported but not corrected by the time we left. We had two rooms connected together and overall the stay was ok. We were there for a funeral so not sure if we could have received a bereavement discount or not. I was going to hassle with it considering we had other things to focus on.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryVillage49849, General Manager at Magnuson Country Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thanks for the review and kind words. I apologize for the fan issue, we did get it corrected but it could have been done more quickly. I am sorry to hear of your loss and to answer your question yes we can offer a bereavement discount. Thanks for staying with us and I hope you will consider us next time you are in the area.

Ryan L.
G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ishpeming, MI, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Overall a good place to stay although if using points it's about double what you'd redeem for a similar quality hotel through other reward programs. The staff was very congenial and helpful. The town of Ishpeming area has very limited lodging options so I was happy to find this hotel to be near the quality of those I normally use when travelling for business or personal reasons. Cindy, the manager, is personable, professional, and very helpful. The housekeeping staff members are prompt and thorough in providing a clean and comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryVillage49849, General Manager at Magnuson Country Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for the review and kind words. We appreciate you staying with us and look forward to seeing you again next time you are in the Ishpeming area.

Ryan

P.S. Cyndie says thank you. :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

The rooms were very clean and well-maintained, there is a pool and sauna area, as well, which I didn't have a chance to use, but it looked nice. Check in was very easy, and the lobby looks like it was well-maintained, also. I definitely liked the coupons I received, upon check in, for nearby local businesses (gym, tanning, restaurants and bars). This hotel is very close to everything I needed. I would stay here again, if I ever have training at nearby Bell Hospital.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryVillage49849, General Manager at Magnuson Country Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for the kind words. We look forward to seeing you again real soon!

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Rates were reasonable, just wish the rooms had a fridge in it. Sofa sleeper definitely needed to be upgraded! (we switched rooms) Staff was very accommodating in all requests. Going next door to the Country Grill for breakfast was not a problem. Food was amazing! Would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryVillage49849, General Manager at Magnuson Country Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thanks for the kind words. You will be glad to hear that we plan on adding micro-fridges in the near future to all of our rooms. Hope to see you again this winter. RL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Magnuson Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Country Inn

Address: 850 US Highway 41 W, Ishpeming, MI 49849
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Ishpeming
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ishpeming
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Magnuson Country Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Magnuson Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ishpeming
Country Inn Ishpeming
Ishpeming Country Inn
Ishpeming Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnuson Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.