We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay For Business” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Magnuson Country Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Magnuson Country Inn to your Saves list
Magnuson Country Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   850 US Highway 41 W, Ishpeming, MI 49849   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ishpeming
Stony Plain, Alberta, Caada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good Stay For Business”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

While in Ishpeming on business, I stayed at the Best Western Country Inn. Nice hotel. Clean room that didn't have a funky smell and the front desk was very helpful. Check in was smooth. The hotel was quiet and close to where we had our meeting. Even though they do not have a continental breakfast in the hotel, they use the restaurant that is right beside the hotel and give you a coupon good for a choice of 3 different breakfast options. They are all good to get your morning going.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryVillage49849, Owner at Magnuson Country Inn, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you and we hope to see you again in the future. RL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    32
    22
    9
    3
See reviews for
43
14
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Top Contributor
517 reviews 517 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 153 cities Reviews in 153 cities
292 helpful votes 292 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We checked in late afternoon, with little wait. The hotel doesn't offer free breakfast, but it is next door to a restaurant, and guests are provided with a $3.00 coupon per-person for a discount on breakfast, if you eat between 6-9:30 a.m.
The free wi-fi is non-existent. It takes minutes (literally) for a web page to come up.
The second floor room was spotless, but there is no elevator so we had to carry luggage up a flight of stairs. Amenities provided included coffee maker, iron and board, lots of decent size towels, conditioning shampoo, bar soap.
I especially liked the "clean" remote - a new type TV remote which does away with most of the filth of standard remote controls.
There was no microwave, mini-fridge or extra blankets, which you might need in the far north. I couldn't figure out how to operate the heat, but it didn't get that cold overnight.
Rooms with two beds include double beds - NOT queens, so you might be crowded sleeping two in a bed. Three pillows are provided per bed, but I couldn't find one that was comfortable.
There is no insulation in the bathroom wall. If someone flushes the toilet while you're asleep, you're jolted awake to what sounds like thunder. The shower sounds like Niagara Falls next to the bed. I didn't sleep very well, but we got this room via Hotwire so definitely didn't overpay.
Accommodations were fine for the price, but I'd have been unhappy if I paid full price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the back, so you;'re less likely to be awakened by highway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryVillage49849, Owner at Magnuson Country Inn, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thanks for the review and I'm sorry that the stay wasn't up to par for you.

I did want to clarify a couple things you mentioned though.

1. Our hotel does indeed offer a free limited breakfast as stated on the coupon you referenced. In loo of the free breakfast our guests have the option to get $3 off if they so choose. Our free breakfast exceeds Best Western requirements and the upgrade option is something we thought we could offer to our guests. It has been a very popular option.

We also offer a variety of rooms. The room you booked indeed did not have a microwave, refrigerator, etc but we do have those options available if guests would like them.

Thanks again for the review I just felt I should clarify those two items.

RL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, New Mexico, United States
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We were traveling through and needed a place to stay. Because I have stay in this hotel many times before on business travel we stopped in and got a room. The service at the desk was very good and the person was pleasant. THe room was clean and orderly. The price of the room is on the high end but when compared to the other hotels in the area the price was in line with them. The breakfast coupons for the restaurant next door helped in lowering the cost. We will stay here again in the future. Bets the Holiday Inn in Marquette by a long ways.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryVillage49849, Owner at Magnuson Country Inn, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thanks for the kind words. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenison, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

stayed here after a trip in minnesota. it was late and we wanted some rest. the whole thing was nice except there was a bat in our room. we knocked it out of the window and didnt tell the staff. O well

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryVillage49849, Owner at Magnuson Country Inn, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thanks for the review and sorry about the bat... :-) Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Valley, MN
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

The check in/out process was easy. The desk staff answered questions and were helpful. The property itself was clean. The room was spotless. The pool area was clean. We received free coupons for breakfast next door. The only issue we had was lack of refrigerators in the rooms. For travelers that would be helpful.Other than that we were pleased with our 2 night stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryVillage49849, Owner at Magnuson Country Inn, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thanks for the great review. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Friendly staff, Nice room. We liked having a sink outside of the bathroom. Clean, well kept property. I thought it a little pricier than it should have been, but over all, a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryVillage49849, Owner at Magnuson Country Inn, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thanks for the kind words and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

I have stayed here a number of times on business, never had a problem. Beds are comfortable, clean and spacious room, great houskeeping staff. Front desk was very nice, breakfast is at resturant next door, far better then the usual donut and coffee and free. Close to several resturants within walking distance, one has a micro brewery.

Room Tip: I think they are all good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryVillage49849, Owner at Magnuson Country Inn, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thanks for the kind words and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Magnuson Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Country Inn

Address: 850 US Highway 41 W, Ishpeming, MI 49849
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Ishpeming
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ishpeming
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Magnuson Country Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Magnuson Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ishpeming
Country Inn Ishpeming
Ishpeming Country Inn
Ishpeming Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnuson Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.