We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Magnuson Country Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Magnuson Country Inn to your Saves list
Magnuson Country Inn
850 US Highway 41 W, Ishpeming, MI 49849   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ishpeming
Hillsboro, New Mexico, United States
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Good place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We were traveling through and needed a place to stay. Because I have stay in this hotel many times before on business travel we stopped in and got a room. The service at the desk was very good and the person was pleasant. THe room was clean and orderly. The price of the room is on the high end but when compared to the other hotels in the area the price was in line with them. The breakfast coupons for the restaurant next door helped in lowering the cost. We will stay here again in the future. Bets the Holiday Inn in Marquette by a long ways.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryVillage49849, Owner at Magnuson Country Inn, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thanks for the kind words. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    28
    21
    9
    2
See reviews for
40
13
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jenison, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

stayed here after a trip in minnesota. it was late and we wanted some rest. the whole thing was nice except there was a bat in our room. we knocked it out of the window and didnt tell the staff. O well

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryVillage49849, Owner at Magnuson Country Inn, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thanks for the review and sorry about the bat... :-) Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Valley, MN
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

The check in/out process was easy. The desk staff answered questions and were helpful. The property itself was clean. The room was spotless. The pool area was clean. We received free coupons for breakfast next door. The only issue we had was lack of refrigerators in the rooms. For travelers that would be helpful.Other than that we were pleased with our 2 night stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryVillage49849, Owner at Magnuson Country Inn, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thanks for the great review. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Friendly staff, Nice room. We liked having a sink outside of the bathroom. Clean, well kept property. I thought it a little pricier than it should have been, but over all, a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryVillage49849, Owner at Magnuson Country Inn, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thanks for the kind words and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

I have stayed here a number of times on business, never had a problem. Beds are comfortable, clean and spacious room, great houskeeping staff. Front desk was very nice, breakfast is at resturant next door, far better then the usual donut and coffee and free. Close to several resturants within walking distance, one has a micro brewery.

Room Tip: I think they are all good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryVillage49849, Owner at Magnuson Country Inn, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thanks for the kind words and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Stayed here in mid March during the week when it got into the 80's up here, unusually rare this time of the year. It is within walking distance to a nice cafe in which they offer a free continental breakfast voucher, grocery store, Mcdonalds, a bowling alley and a nice brewery. The beds we slept in were actually really comfortable too I had no problem sleeping at night. Although, I am used to staying in economy hotels but we had a deal at this one. I would definitely stay here again if I'm in the area, but probably would not pay full price for it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryVillage49849, Owner at Magnuson Country Inn, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thanks for the kind words and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Despite good customer service at the front desk, a painless check in/check out procedure, and some coupons for the local businesses, we will not be staying at this hotel again, because it all comes down to one thing: Comfort.

This place had the most uncomfortable beds I've ever slept in. Hard, yet unsupported, a night in these beds would give you all manner of stiffness and aches and pains once you hit the morning. My wife actually had to move to the couch, she found the beds so hard to sleep in. The pillows are oddly small, yet thick and firm, and even one was too large to sleep on comfortably.

The bathroom was in sort of shoddy repair, the shower didn't work terribly well, and had a tendency to leak onto the floor regardless of what you did with the shower curtain.

We got a good deal on the place, and the rest of it seemed nice enough, but those beds were enough to guarantee that we'll never be spending another night here.

Room Tip: Avoid being booked into room 103. It appears to be the handicap accessible room, and none of the fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryVillage49849, Owner at Magnuson Country Inn, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Sorry to hear you had a poor experience. We do strive for guest satisfaction and are constantly improving and updating our rooms. Thanks for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Magnuson Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Country Inn

Address: 850 US Highway 41 W, Ishpeming, MI 49849
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Ishpeming
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ishpeming
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Magnuson Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ishpeming
Country Inn Ishpeming
Ishpeming Country Inn
Ishpeming Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnuson Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.