We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst staff ever” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Jasper Ridge Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Jasper Ridge Inn to your Saves list
Jasper Ridge Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 River Parkway, Ishpeming, MI 49849   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ishpeming
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worst staff ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Room was comfortable enough, but outrageously overpriced for what it is. Front desk staff was appallingly unfriendly. Address was listed incorrectly online and difficult to find. I have never encountered less accommodating staff. A/C was broken and breakfast - nonexistent.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryVillage49849, Manager at Jasper Ridge Inn, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Sir, I apologize that you did not agree with our property wide NO PET POLICY. We do strictly enforce this as it can be an issue for our other guests with allergies and such. Since you chose to bring your dog into the room anyway, we followed through with our policy and added the additional charges onto your room. We then took the whole room apart and deep cleaned it to make sure no allergens were left in the room afterwards.

Sincerely,

RyanL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    5
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
5
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Negaunee, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Front desk staff (Woman) very disrespectful. Overheard her screaming at another customer, (literally!!) and felt we were inconveniencing her by being there. Not helpful at all. In the morning we also overheard other customers that spent the night also had the same experience with her. Hospitality should not be her chosen field of employment!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryVillage49849, Manager at Jasper Ridge Inn, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thanks for the review. We have spoken to all of our desk clerks and reinforced that this type of behavior is unacceptable regardless of the situation.

Sincerely,

RyanL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohawk, Michigan
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This is our 2nd visit to Jasper Ridge and was not as good as the first time, the room was large and comfortable but had obviously not been cleaned well, there were bits all over the carpet and the bed was badly made. The bath towels are small and not very soft not what you expect from a hotel charging $85 per night, the breakfast was good on both occasions, we informed reception that this was our 2nd visit and there was no comment, not even well thats nice that you chose us again, we are Motel owners and we know what standards guests expect. On our U.P. trip we stayed at 3 Motels not one showed us to our room, something we like to do. Get your standards right or this will be our last visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryVillage49849, Manager at Jasper Ridge Inn, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for choosing our property for your return visit. We appreciate the feedback and will work to improve our property and our service. Your suggestions are helpful and appreciated.

Sincerely,

RyanL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan, USA
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The hotel was quite empty during our stay. I suspect that if full, you would hear some noise as the walls seem thin. The place was clean and the bed was comfortable. I don't think you'll find anything better anywhere close by. The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryVillage49849, Manager at Jasper Ridge Inn, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thanks for the review and kind words. We hope to see you again very soon!

Ryan L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohawk, Michigan
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We just got back from a two night stay at Jasper Ridge Inn, it was so nice to find a clean comfortable room and very friendly staff, nice to be able to chat with the receptionist instead of just getting a key and a smile. Breakfast was good with all that was needed, we would definately stay there again and would reccomend to travellers and friends, we ate the first night at the Country Inn a couple of blocks away the Broasted Chicken was to die for, so crispy moist and tender inside and all at a great price, the second night we ate at the Jasper Ridge brewery and grill, our reccomendation is to give this place a miss, greasy fried fish and congealed pasta (mac and Cheese) ok at first but ended up cool as a lump of pasta. Could well do with the carpets cleaned. Try the Jasper Ridge Inn for yourself, you will not be dissapointed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryVillage49849, Manager at Jasper Ridge Inn, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thanks for the review and kind words. We hope to see you again very soon!

RyanL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is an average hotel that in my opinion is very comparable to a simple sleep inn, knights inn, etc. Although a nice hotel, I do not think it is worth the price. It is very quiet and because of that you can easily hear the people next door. One of the beds in our room was very squeaky. For nearly the same price, I would stay at the Best Western nearby as it is a bit nicer. It is in a convenient location though and walking distance to the brewery, Mcdonalds, a movie theater and a family restaurant. I would stay here again only if the price was lowered.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryVillage49849, Owner at Jasper Ridge Inn, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thanks for the review. Sorry to hear about the issues you had with us. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

In the midst of a long road trip, the hotel offered pleasant, quiet lodgings for the nice. A country diner within walking distance provided a decent meal before retiring for the night. Although the room was small, it was clean. The bed was comfortable and fot the bill for a overnight roadside stay.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryVillage49849, Owner at Jasper Ridge Inn, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
thanks, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jasper Ridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jasper Ridge Inn

Address: 1000 River Parkway, Ishpeming, MI 49849
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Ishpeming
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ishpeming
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Jasper Ridge Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jasper Ridge Inn also offers special low rates for Business travelers, Seniors (AARP), Groups, Snowmobilers and Motor coach groups. Plus all children under 18 stay free with a paying adult.The Country Village Resort has over 30 village shops, 5 screen movie theater, bowling center and many other services all within walking distance.The Jasper Ridge Inn also has outstanding meeting facilities for any occasion. It can accommodate groups from 2 to 70. Located in the center of Ishpeming the Jasper Ridge Inn is surrounded by outstanding outdoor recreational facilities for fishing, golfing, rock hunting, boating, sightseeing, skiing, luge, snow shoeing, snowmobiling, and much more. Come join us.With the adjacent Jasper Ridge Brewery, the Jasper Ridge Inn offers great lodging, dining and meeting facilities all in one convenient location. Come stay with us and have a great time! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Jasper Ridge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jasper Ridge Hotel Ishpeming

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jasper Ridge Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.