We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price for a neat little "homegrown" motel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wonderland Motel

Wonderland Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ishpeming
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wonderland Motel
Save
You added Wonderland Motel to your Saves list
873 Palms Avenue, Ishpeming, MI 49849   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ishpeming
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great price for a neat little "homegrown" motel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

After reading the reviews I tried out this place. Nice and clean. Our room was on the backside so the highway sound did not effect us. I always travel with a fan and ear plugs (husband snores) :)
BUT I think I would need them anyway if I were on the highway side. It is a great value.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, NY
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This is a very nice and extremely clean budget motel. Although it is a dated property, it is definitely well maintained. I agree with the reviewer who commented on the lighting and the towels. The lighting in the bedroom and the bathroom is way above average, and the towels were amazingly thick and soft. Since the property is on the main highway, I was concerned that traffic noise might disturb sleep, but it was not a problem. The owners were friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast was limited, but adequate for me. People who like a big breakfast would probably do well to breakfast at a nearby restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Family run small motel. Room dated but very clean. The couple that run this are very nice and accommodating. Good value for the area. Just wanted a room and did not want to pay chain hotel prices. Saw this reviewed as clean so knew it would be a good spot to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southfield, Michigan
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Clean, budget place to stay. Great lighting (typically I've found most hotel and motels have poor lighting, but this room had excellent lighting). Nice towels for a budget motel. Small bathroom, but everything was clean and nice. The owner was very nice too.

Room Tip: As with most motels, bring ear plugs, this is a quiet place, but you can hear road noice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here one night. Very clean, comfortable beds, & very nicely-decorated rooms. We didn't see any breakfast, & didn't use the WIFI, so I can't really say much on those. However the couple who runs the motel is very friendly and accomodating. If you're looking for the best-value lodging in Ishpeming, this is the place to go. We would definitely stay again! The rooms are comperable to the larger, more expensive hotels in town for much cheaper.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flushing, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012 via mobile

Very charming! Good price, micro, fridge, WiFi, continental breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Indiana
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

This was an awesome little motel on the main drag. Clean and comfortable, with microwave and fridge too--and very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wonderland Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wonderland Motel

Address: 873 Palms Avenue, Ishpeming, MI 49849
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Ishpeming
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ishpeming
Number of rooms: 11

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wonderland Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.