We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What I would expect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AmericInn Lodge & Suites Iron River

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added AmericInn Lodge & Suites Iron River to your Saves list
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Iron River
40 East Adams Street, PO Box 308, Iron River, MI 49935-0308   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Iron River
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“What I would expect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

This is a nice, clean and comfortable hotel within Iron River. Not much in this town when it comes to selecting a hotel, however this is an ideal hotel right in the heart of downtown Iron River. It may be a little on the pricey side for what you get, but I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaeanneG, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Iron River, responded to this review, May 26, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Being right in the heart of town is very convenient for our guests. We pride ourselves in keeping a clean and comfortable hotel for our guests to enjoy. Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    27
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
43
12
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

Beds were lumpy and uncomfortable. No closet. Very small bathroom. Lots of noise from the parking lot. Coffee was equivalent to a brown crayon dipped in hot water. Breakfast was weak. Hope you like hard boiled eggs, cause that's the only kind they got. Guests show up like it's a retirement home in PJ's, uncombed hair, creepy. Scary, arthritic elevator. Charged us like we were in a city, with a concierge. Really, really, lame.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaeanneG, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Iron River, responded to this review, May 26, 2010
We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. Our guests comments are very important to us. It appears you did not have a good stay. We are staffed 24 hours to assure that if a guest has a problem someone is there to assist them. If we were aware of the problems you were having we would have solved them immediately. If we could not solve them to your satisfaction we would have found you alternative lodging that better suited your needs. Our goal is to have all guests enjoy their stay and I apologize you did not.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2009

Two rooms for our three young adults and a friend, plus we brought the family dog for another small fee (in one of their four pet friendly rooms). Hotel was adequate for what we paid. Front desk staff was VERY nice. Pool was nice as well. Perks included free high speed, wireless Internet and breakfast which was included with good choices. Bathroom could have been maintained a bit nicer - dirty grout and peeling wallpaper. Bedding a bit rough.

Overall, good value for the price we paid considering our intentions to simply sleep and shower there while skiing 10 minutes away. I would rate this above average due to the friendly staff - the hotel itself was average.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaeanneG, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Iron River, responded to this review, May 26, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the AmericInn of Iron River. So many people are traveling with their pets nowadays so I am happy we could accomodate your family and your pet. I am glad that you enjoyed all the amenities our hotel has to offer and that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. We did talk to maintenance about the problem in the bathroom and it was solved. Thank you again for your business and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, MI
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2008

I stayed 10 nights for work.
The room was spacious and in good condition. AmericInn advertises that they have extra insulation to dampen noise and it was evident in the room. Oftentimes, I can easily hear the next room in other hotels but it was very quiet at the AmericInn. The exception was when the snowmobilers were in the parking lot, then the noise was noticeable through the window.
The complimentary breakfast had a nice selection.
I did not use the indoor pool but it looked nice and I usually saw people using it. I did use the exercise room which had a treadmill, an elliptical machine, and a bike.
There is a computer and printer in the lobby for guests to use.
The location was convenient and easy to find. It's right off the main road in town.
I enjoyed my stay and would stay here again if I visit Iron River.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Lenox, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2006

Stayed at this hotel for one night on a cross-country snowmobile trip. What a great hotel, as all of the AmericInns we stay at. We arrived late after driving up in a blizzrd. What we wanted was a nice peaceful, quiet night and we got it. We were all ready for our long day of riding where we would stay next at AmericInn Calumet.

  • Liked — Great location and clean, quiet place to stay.
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Tips/Secrets — Book in advance during snowmobile season.
  • Stayed February 2006, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AmericInn Lodge & Suites Iron River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Lodge & Suites Iron River

Address: 40 East Adams Street, PO Box 308, Iron River, MI 49935-0308
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Iron River
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Iron River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, AmericInn Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your AmericInn Lodge & Suites Iron River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AmericInn Lodge & Suites Iron River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.