We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best ski weekend hotel experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lakeshore Motel

Lakeshore Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Iron River
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lakeshore Motel
Save
You added Lakeshore Motel to your Saves list
1257 Lalley Road, Iron River, MI 49935   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Iron River
Appleton, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
“Best ski weekend hotel experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We had a fabulous stay at Lakeshore this weekend while skiing at Brule. This was one of the best experiences I've had at a hotel at this value. The cost to stay here is such an incredible value for what you get. The cleanliness of the room, quiet/quaintness, view and location on the lake, and wonderful owners added so much to our ski weekend. There is absolutely no reason to stay at the chain hotel nearby when you can pay much less, get a well taken care of room, and get a much more unique experience at Lakeshore. Don't let the initial view of the motel fool you, it's much more pleasant inside, and the outdoor adventures nearby and the local charm will make it a great time! I can't stress enough the tranquility and quiet atmosphere, which you rarely find in hotels!

The owners were simply amazing and very nice. Made us feel so welcome.

Bathroom - water heat was very touchy in shower, but very minor issue. Outdated but who cares!

Rooms with two Queen beds were very good sized. Had small table and a few swivel chairs in other parts of room, which were very handy. Beds weren't super comfortable but exceeded expectations for price.

Good flat screen TVs with satellite. Also had WIFI.

Are outside was BEAUTIFUL. Right on the lake, perfect tranquil scenery in the winter.

Very nice, small continental breakfast every morning. Unexpected bonus for the cost to stay.

Room Tip: Get the double bed rooms even if you don't need the 2nd bed. Bigger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
15
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ALGONAC
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Have been staying here for years! Some rooms accept dogs. Always very clean and very nice owners! Love the swivel chair and ottoman in each room - great for reading late at night! Recently rooms were furnished with new pillows, which are great for sleeping. Didn't even have to bring in my own from the car! Two buildings, one on Ice Lake and the other across from the building on the lake. Very quiet location - best in Iron River!

Room Tip: Motel is nicer than cabins, but cabins are away from everyone and are better if you have a pet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Past reviews are all accurate. Would be a 5, but the room was a little cramped. Great value. Family business with small, older rooms that are very clean, quiet and comfortable. Fridge and small microwave in the room. Small flat screen TV. Located on right on Ice Lake about a mile from town, so sunrise (and moonrise!) over the steaming lake was a real treat. Standard continental breakfast in the very homey lobby area. Wonderful owners and staff. Really enjoyed our short stay and plan on staying here again for our next visit. I definitely recommend it for those who are want a nice place while enjoying the local area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Lakeshore Motel is an older "mom and pop" facility. The room we had was smaller (as many older motels are), and the bathroom fixtures older, but all was very clean, and the bed was quite comfortable, with a new mattress and chair in the room. WiFi worked well, breakfast is included, though we didn't try it. The view is tops - Ice Lake, in September has some great colors around it! Friendly owners, and a very inexpensive stay (about $50+) make this a great value. We will definately stay here when we are in Iron River again.

Room Tip: There are two buildings - we were in room 30, a building across the parking lot from the office, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We just stayed one night, but if we had to be in the area longer, we would definitely stay here! The owners are very friendly and pleasant, and really make you feel welcome. The rooms are clean and a decent enough size. The lake was just outside the back of our room, and the view in the morning with the mist on the lake was marvelous. They have a great breakfast in the office, too. It was fun having breakfast with others staying at the motel. Thanks for a great experience in the U.P.! We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Great Place to stay for the ski season! I love that we can stay here and get a great breakfast as well as being able to wax skis and get a good night's sleep. We tend to stay here at least 15 nights per year and are always welcome to a great room every weekend.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

I stayed here with my 4 year old daughter for 5 nights while visiting family in Iron River. The room was very clean and had the ameneties we were looking for. A refridgerator for drinks and snacks, cable tv for entertainment, and a wonderful view of the lake right outside the window. They even threw in a decent continental breakfast. Owners are very friendly and helpful. I will stay here again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good in my opinion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lakeshore Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeshore Motel

Address: 1257 Lalley Road, Iron River, MI 49935
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Iron River
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Iron River
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Lakeshore Hotel Iron River
Lakeshore Motel Iron River

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakeshore Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.