We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice suprise in Downtown Iron Mountain” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spiro's Downtown Restaurant

Spiro's Downtown Restaurant
427 S Stephenson Ave, Ste 21, Iron Mountain, MI 49801
+1 906-774-3499
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Greek, Contemporary, International
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Green Bay, WI
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“A nice suprise in Downtown Iron Mountain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Excellent service and great food at Spiro's. We are longtime vacationers in Northern Wisconsin and the UP, but really had never spent much time in Iron Mountain. On a quick glance seeing Sprios as TA's top reviewed restaurant, we decided to take a look. They have a very nice patio on the sidewalk outside the restaurant with trees above which provide a nice canopy. I was surprised at how extensive the beer list was, which included some UP microbrews that I had not yet heard of. The food was fresh tasting (we had sandwiches and wraps) and delicious. Pricing was good for a casual dining experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    12
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good Place to Meet with Friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Spiro's has a small dining room, and each time we've gotten together for dinner (me and 4 or 5 girlfriends) we've recognized people at several tables. It's semi social, you feel weird not going to say hi since you're eating in eye-shot of everyone else. So I'd say it's a good place to go with a group, but not great for a romantic or family meal. Food is good, their steak is tasty. I haven't been there in the summer, but I hope they have an outdoor seating area like the previous owners of the property, because it is a bit cramped inside.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, Michigan
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good Food and Good Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I can't tell you about the inside of this restaurant because we sat immediately in the sidewalk seating. Plants and a fence protected the area from a surprisingly busy street. We all had burgers, but each of us chose a different side dish. The pretzels/dip and chips/salsa were good, but the fries were superb - hot and extra crispy with a nice spice. The outside of the burgers were a little too char grilled for me but my son who grills with charcoal really liked them. Some wraps and dinner dishes passed our table, and they looked good as well. Drinks/Beers were a little pricey here and there is no beer on tap, but it was a good restaurant with some really unique menu items as well as the usual dinner/sandwich fare.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, Wisconsin, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We continue to be very impressed by the superb food served at this little gem tucked away in the UP! Our guys golf foursome will return on every possible opportunity we are in the area!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A needle in the haystack”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We have been traveling in the UP for a few days, and while the scenery is beautiful, the best food has been pizza at a bar. ...until Spiro's. It is a true find!! The food was unique, looked great and tasted outstanding. It is the place to go in this area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spiro's Downtown Restaurant also viewed

Iron Mountain, Upper Peninsula
Iron Mountain, Upper Peninsula
 
Iron Mountain, Upper Peninsula
Iron Mountain, Upper Peninsula
 

Been to Spiro's Downtown Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spiro's Downtown Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.