We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spiro's Downtown Restaurant

Spiro's Downtown Restaurant
427 S Stephenson Ave, Ste 21, Iron Mountain, MI 49801
+1 906-774-3499
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Greek, Contemporary, International
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Clarkston, MI
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great food, great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

After looking on TA and another site to find a gluten-free friendly restaurant I found Spiros. We sat outside and our waitress was great about verifying if the salad we wanted to order (tropical salad) was gluten free (it is). I ordere the chicken panini sandwich with spinach and pesto, my eldest ordered the Italian chicken bruchetta sandwich on ciabatta bread, and my husband ordered the chicken with rice, artichoke hearts, and feta. The prices are good and the food is great.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    12
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great sidewalk dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Very relaxed and pleasant early dinner, our waiter was excellent and the food was the best of our trip to the Upper Peninsula!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killingworth, Connecticut
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Not too many choices in Iron Mountain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

but after reading some of the reviews, decided to give Spiros a try. Thought we would be treated to Greek delights. Unfortunately they are few and far between on the menu. What we did order - hamburgers, soup/sandwich combination - were well prepared, served hot and quite tasty. Sat outside - road noise needs to be considered when choosing this location.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maribel, Wi, Usa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Glad we found this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We first found this place by accident several years ago, and now plan our trips as we pass through Iron Mountain so we can stop and eat here. I am a foodie from the Green Bay area, and this place would rank in the top 5 of restaurants here. We have never been disappointed in anything we have tried. Food is excellent, service, atmosphere and value all very good. I hope we get to enjoy our stops here for many years to come.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addison, Michigan
1 review
“OMG what a gem, who would of ever thought!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Just got back from eating at Spiro's in Downtown Iron Mountain. Everything that we ate in this restaurant was beyond anything we have ever eaten before. I have eaten in restaurants around the world and this place is beyond words. I called to ask about making a reservation and was told that if I came down immediately they would hold my table for me. My sister and I arrived 15 minutes later and sure enough there was a reserved sign on our table and we were able to walk into a packed room, sit down, order a to die for appetizer and had a fine bottle of wine on our table within 10 minutes. We ordered two different entrees and they were both delicious. Not only this, but the ladies eating at the table behind us were wooing and ahhing about the delicious desert that they just had served by their top notch waiter. This is a 5 star restaurant in a small town that could compete with any big city top chef establishment. Should I ever return to Iron Mountain I will certainly return to Spiro's, and hope to get our outstanding waitress Crystal. My sister was begging the owner to move down state so we could eat this wonderful food regularly. Don't even think of eating anywhere else if you are within 50 miles from this place. Top notch and too die for!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spiro's Downtown Restaurant also viewed

Iron Mountain, Upper Peninsula
Iron Mountain, Upper Peninsula
 
Iron Mountain, Upper Peninsula
Iron Mountain, Upper Peninsula
 

Been to Spiro's Downtown Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spiro's Downtown Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.