We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“new owner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of American Inn & Suites Ionia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added American Inn & Suites Ionia to your Saves list
American Inn & Suites Ionia
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   423 Brown Blvd, Ionia, MI 48846 (Formerly AmeriHost Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ionia
Cadillac, Michigan, United States
1 review
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“new owner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

New pool, remodeled lobby and clean comfortable rooms. Very nice people own and operate the hotel. The rooms all have new flat screen tv's, mini fridges, couch or chair. I would recommend the hotel to anyone. The hotel just had their re grand opening with the new owners.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
americanmgmt, Manager at American Inn & Suites Ionia, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of our hotel. New owner took over the property in November 2012 and started renovations immediately. As you experienced the guest rooms have been completely remodeled with new furniture, bedding, and carpet. Again thank you for your review and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    7
    8
    4
    7
See reviews for
11
9
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ionia, Michigan
1 review
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This was an excellent choice for my group of 8 people.....everything was great! Mike was very accomodating, and we had a very good stay! I will come back here if we ever get back to Ionia...for sure! We used the conference room on a last minute need, and Mike was very accomodating on this aas well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
americanmgmt, Manager at American Inn & Suites Ionia, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing American Inn and Suites Ionia for your group. I'm glad to hear we have exceeded your expectations. We look forward to your next visit to Ionia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Like in my previous rating, my experience here, at the hotel, has been outstanding. I was here a few weeks ago for a visit and ended up coming back for a funeral. Both times I stayed were for a week or longer and both times my stay here was good. The staff is kind and accommodating. The rooms are spacious and clean. I would recommend this place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
americanmgmt, Manager at American Inn & Suites Ionia, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you So much for the review. We have been working very hard with the improvements and remodel with the property. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for the Gus Macker basketball tournament and was surprise how nice the rooms were. The place is really clean and the service is great. The front desk lady was very nice and the manager greeted all the guest. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
americanmgmt, Manager at American Inn & Suites Ionia, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for choosing American Inn and Suites for your recent stay in Ionia. We really appreciate that you took the time to post your review and were delighted to hear that you loved your stay in our hotel and really appreciated the services proposed by our staff. Thank you again! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

i have been to a few hotels over the years but this one is my favorite out of them all. i love the location its right in town. i love the pool. i love the jacouzzi [i think thats how its spelled] my wife and i come here almost on a regular basis and we have never had a bad time. to me it feels like a home away from home. its just relaxing. we plan on coming here as much as we can. the staff is very polite and the place is clean which is great. thankyou for the good times. :] -Alton and Jennifer Mick-

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
americanmgmt, Manager at American Inn & Suites Ionia, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, especially the perfect location, our amenities, our nice hotel and our friendly staff. Looking forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ionia, Michigan
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Very nice hotel it's been recently remodeled. My room was very nice i was very surprised that the room had a flat screen TV, the bed was very comfortable. The hotel has a very nice pool and hot tub. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I defiantly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
americanmgmt, Manager at American Inn & Suites Ionia, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for your nice review. It is always a pleasure for us to get nice comments and we are really happy that you appreciate our efforts to update and remodel the property. It was a pleasure for us to have you as a guest! We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslett
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I stay here frequently and am very happy with the establishment. The rooms have all been upgraded with new carpet and furniture. The owner has always treated me with respect and was happy to help if I ever had a issue. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a comfortable place to Stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
americanmgmt, Manager at American Inn & Suites Ionia, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your stay with us. We are happy to hear how satisfied you are of our improvements. It is our goal that all our guests leave with a smile. Hope to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to American Inn & Suites Ionia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Inn & Suites Ionia

Address: 423 Brown Blvd, Ionia, MI 48846 (Formerly AmeriHost Inn)
Location: United States > Michigan > Ionia County > Ionia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ionia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — American Inn & Suites Ionia 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy 2 Story hotel with inside entries, indoor heated pool and whirlpool located in Ionia Michigan. This picturesque town of Ionia was founded in 1833 along the Grand River. The surroundings are seasoned with beautifully restored 19th century architecture, stately public buildings, magnificent old churches, unique gift shops, boutiques, antique and collectible shops and peaceful shaded parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your American Inn & Suites Ionia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage American Inn & Suites Ionia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.