We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Friendly, clean park” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Interlochen State Park

Interlochen State Park
M-137, Interlochen, MI 49643
231-276-9511
Improve this listing
Attraction details
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
“Family Friendly, clean park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We didn't stay in the park, but we visited friends. Nice facilities and clean. You can hear some of the national music camp concerts & rehearsals, but only up until 9 PM or so. It is a pleasant sound.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    13
    5
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“From a neighbor's perspective”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We have a summer cottage less than a mile from this beautiful state park. We ride through it on our almost daily bike rides. We see it on crowded summer weekends and on deserted fall weekdays. Weather played havoc on the woods this spring resulting in a huge number of trees downed or damaged. They have been balancing cleaning and clearing with opening most camp sites. The lake is crystal clear and wonderful for sailing, canoeing, kayaking ( camp rents boats) as well as swimming, paddle board and skiing. Most popular is pontoon boat cruising as it allows you to really just enjoy the pristine waters and beautiful wooded shores. The park has several boat launches as well as a few wooded huts, tepees and tents to rent.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Scouts use group site.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We recently used group site #1 for a Boy Scout outing. Site had plenty of parking and tents. Bathroom was a small walk and our boys enjoyed the beach, store, and playground. This campground is a grat launching point in the Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore?

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Michigan
1 review
“Disappointing Experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We have camped at Interlochen before and it was a pleasant experience. This year (2012) was disappointing. The campsite (349) appeared to have had the back section bulldozed and was full of downed trees, logs, upturned tree roots and piles of dirt and piles of tree rubble. Some of the tree roots were ripped up into the site and sticking up in the air inches to 3 feet. The fire pit was placed at the far far back of the site on the edge of the rubble so it was difficult to sit around the fire. The internet description of the site was shaded and the reality was that it was full sun all day long. It was hot hot hot and you could not find any shade to sit in for most of the day. Dogs were barking all day long and into the evening. Our first night we listened to people partying until 2:00 am. I doubt we will be camping here again. This was not a pleasant atmosphere.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Blanc, Michigan, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We are new to camping. We had a wonderful time. The park is very shaded and the facilities are very clean. The beach was nice and the water was warm and refreshing. There wasn't much grass and it was a bit dusty, but I think that is because there hasn't been much rain this year. It was pretty close to Sleeping Bear dunes (about 40 minute) and Traverse City (20ish minutes). There are stores nearby if you need more than what is offered at the park store. We had a great time and will likely return.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Interlochen State Park also viewed

Interlochen, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County

Been to Interlochen State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Interlochen State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.