We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great Family Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ellis Lake Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Interlochen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ellis Lake Resort
Save
You added Ellis Lake Resort to your Saves list
8440 US 31 S, PO Box 275, Interlochen, MI 49643   |  
Hotel amenities
Troy, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great Family Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Really enjoyed our stay. Location was perfect for visiting our granddaughter at the Interlochen Arts Camp and great fun for the grandchildren since we had the lake all to ourselves and the use of the paddle boat and canoes. Also convenient for cookouts right outside our cabins. We had two right next door to each other which made it nice.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    7
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
12
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011 via mobile

Noise curfew is not enforced thus we had a noisy first night. The lake is small but private with boats provided. Mattress is very soft in the Doghouse. Shower is built way above ground level and the first wet step getting out can be slippery and very dangerous. Location can be very noisy with highway noise as well as a bit challenging to get out of the complex due to traffic.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bjohnsondragonfly, Owner at Ellis Lake Resort, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
Thank you, Ioneal, for your review. We are not pleased if the noise did not quiet down after we made late evening rounds. We do apologize for that. The new shower is the same location as the old shower was. Our cabins are 72 years old and did not originally have bathrooms. These were added later and plumbing put in the best it could for a slab foundation and log structure. We do provide shower mats for the floor like other motel/hotels do for more secure footing. We trust you found the majority of your stay restful and relaxing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
avoca,mi
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

Becky and Steve are the hosts of this magnificent place, and they couldnt of been more helpful. This was my second year in row up here and it was just as great. The patio by the lake is peaceful and a great place to watch the sunset while drinking a cold one. The cabins provide a secluded feel in the woods. With the hot tub in the middle of the woods and within walking distance, its unique setting left us in awe. I would AND DO recommend this gorgeous place to anyone looking to get away from the daily grind of this thing we call life... and just kick back and relax.

Derek&Brittaney.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at Ellis Lake. My husband and I stayed there back in 1997 when we first got married. Went back this time with our ten-year-old son. We canoed a lot, enjoyed campfires and enjoyed the wood stove in the cabin. We will definitely be heading back.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

Quiet and private yet near outstanding cultural, sightseeing an outdoor opportunities. Congenial and accommodating hosts. Only resort on the lake.

Room Tip: Go to the website for information about each cabin
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyandotte, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

Great price. Lovely accommodations. Perfect romantic getaway. No TV but we brought a laptop and played movies. Hot tub in the snow was great! Only drawback - Wish it had an enclosure though and place to put clothes/towels.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Pleasant
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

Ellis Lake Resort was easy to find. Although the atmosphere is rustic and remote, we were surprised at how close we were to all kinds of businesses and activities. The cabin was incredibly clean, with great attention to detail. We enjoyed the roomy feel of the open floorplan yet it was still warm and cozy. The kitchen had everything needed.
I appreciated the free WIFI and since I am techno-challenged, Becky's assistance in figuring out how to use it was wonderful!
Becky and Steve took great pains to fill us in on everything they and the area had to offer.
We were pampered by having the snow cleared off the car and the firepit shoveled out.
We had some awesome winter time campfires!
We hope to return next year.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ellis Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellis Lake Resort

Address: 8440 US 31 S, PO Box 275, Interlochen, MI 49643
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Interlochen
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Interlochen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cute, cozy, romantic log cabin lodging. Small resort surrounded by forest on almost 900 feet of frontage on secluded Ellis Lake. Private outdoor hot tub. Rowboats, canoes, cross-country skis, snowshoes, volleyball and horseshoes are available. Large wooden deck, chairs, grill, tables and a nice floating raft at the lake. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ellis Lake Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.