We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a MUST visit when in Indian River. Great Italian Food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vivio's

Vivio's
4531 S Straits Hwy, Indian River, MI 49749-9301
231-238-9471
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 17 Restaurants in Indian River
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Pizza, pasta, full bar, great Up North decor
Northern Michigan
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“This is a MUST visit when in Indian River. Great Italian Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I used to live in Indian River and visited this restaurant frequently. There is not a bad meal here. My favorite was the baked Mostaccioli. Absolutely delicious. Their meat sauce is wonderful. They are packed from May through October - so come early or later if you don't want to wait. Their bar is great for a quick drink before dinner and Stewart is always an entertaining bartender.

Really great place with a wonderful atmosphere and delicious food.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    30
    13
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Craving Vivios!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Vivios is amazing and it always has been. I have to get mostaccioli every time and I never regret it. A trip to Northern Michigan would not be complete without at least one visit to Vivio's.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petoskey, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“best pizza within 200 miles”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

really good, they get really crowded, if you have a group, I always go ahead of the group and get our name on waiting list. love the house dressingon the salad.yum!...see you there!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good, but order something else”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We both ordered perch - it was pretty good, but the vegetables with it were pretty boring.

Our guess is that you should get pizza there, but pizza does not agree with me so that was not an option.

Service was adequate.

If TA allowed a 3.5 rating, that is what I would give it. We rounded up because it is a fun place and I think other menu choices are probably better.

Great little bar - enjoyed our pre-dinner drink the most.- maybe it was just the friendly people and personable bartender.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hod Hasharon
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 147 cities Reviews in 147 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
“No Wonder It's Always Packed!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We drove past this in-the-middle-of-nowhere restaurant a few times during our stay at Rohn House B&B (Covered separately) and the parking lot was always full to the hilt.
We decided to give it a go and hit the restaurant at exactly 5pm (Opening time) and within minutes the (very large) place was packed. Amazing.
The atmosphere is warm and family like, with a hunting lodge type decor.
The service was very friendly and efficient.
The Italian/American menu is huge and varied. We took the lake perch and the veal parmigiana which were excellent. People around us were eating beautiful looking (and tasty, by what we heard...) pizzas which certainly looked tempting.
The prices were just right and the whole experience left us with a taste for more and with slight sorrow that Vivio's is not around the corner from where we live.....
Great Place!!! If you are anywhere near (or even not so near....) make an effort!!!!! You won't be sorry!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vivio's also viewed

Indian River, Cheboygan County
Indian River, Cheboygan County
 
Indian River, Cheboygan County
Indian River, Cheboygan County
 

Been to Vivio's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vivio's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.