We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best pizza within 200 miles” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vivio's

Vivio's
4531 S Straits Hwy, Indian River, MI 49749-9301
231-238-9471
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 17 Restaurants in Indian River
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Pizza, pasta, full bar, great Up North decor
Petoskey, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“best pizza within 200 miles”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

really good, they get really crowded, if you have a group, I always go ahead of the group and get our name on waiting list. love the house dressingon the salad.yum!...see you there!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    30
    13
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Detroit
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good, but order something else”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We both ordered perch - it was pretty good, but the vegetables with it were pretty boring.

Our guess is that you should get pizza there, but pizza does not agree with me so that was not an option.

Service was adequate.

If TA allowed a 3.5 rating, that is what I would give it. We rounded up because it is a fun place and I think other menu choices are probably better.

Great little bar - enjoyed our pre-dinner drink the most.- maybe it was just the friendly people and personable bartender.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hod Hasharon
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 147 cities Reviews in 147 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
“No Wonder It's Always Packed!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We drove past this in-the-middle-of-nowhere restaurant a few times during our stay at Rohn House B&B (Covered separately) and the parking lot was always full to the hilt.
We decided to give it a go and hit the restaurant at exactly 5pm (Opening time) and within minutes the (very large) place was packed. Amazing.
The atmosphere is warm and family like, with a hunting lodge type decor.
The service was very friendly and efficient.
The Italian/American menu is huge and varied. We took the lake perch and the veal parmigiana which were excellent. People around us were eating beautiful looking (and tasty, by what we heard...) pizzas which certainly looked tempting.
The prices were just right and the whole experience left us with a taste for more and with slight sorrow that Vivio's is not around the corner from where we live.....
Great Place!!! If you are anywhere near (or even not so near....) make an effort!!!!! You won't be sorry!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
port huron, MI
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best Dinner in Indian River”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We go to Vivio's often. They have the most outstanding pizza! The rest of the menu is excellent as well, but the pizza is a must have. It is the most highly recommended place in town. Reasonable prices, clean, great staff and super food. Expect a wait to get a table. They are popular!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“The pizza will not disappoint !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I have been visiting Vivios for many years while spending summers in Michigan. It still is one our family's favorites. Great variety and service. We even drive nine miles for take out!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vivio's also viewed

Indian River, Cheboygan County
Indian River, Cheboygan County
 
Indian River, Cheboygan County
Indian River, Cheboygan County
 

Been to Vivio's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vivio's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.