We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Comfort Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   200 Cloverleaf Lane, Houghton Lake, MI 48629 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Houghton Lake)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Houghton Lake
Deerfield Michigan 49238
1 review
“Very nice visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

We spent the night of October 11,2011 and had a very good experience. The room was very clean and the motel as a whole was very neat and clean. NO BEDBUGS!!! The workers were helpful and pleasant. The morning buffet had very thing that you would want to eat and a very nice variety. The food was also hot and the room where it was served very clean. The only concerned was that they could use some new flags and the weeds should be removed from around entrance. The first impression is important. All in all the visit was satisfactory and we would return .

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    16
    11
    11
    5
See reviews for
16
9
3
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint-Constant, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

we stayed here 19 and 20 August. staff was responsive to requests to turn room after the first night. cost of rooms were reasonable. i would utilize this hotel again when staying in the area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Well the hot tub was so cool, that I had to ask the front desk to check into it. Far as we knew he had fixed it until we tried it out @around 7PM. Another customer came out of the hot tub complaining it was cold as well We were in the hot tub around 12 that day I guees it hasn't been fixed.. Ice machine had broke. "was "(parts on order)"


The positive thing it is close to food, gas and other points of interests
and right off the exit.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroeville, Ohio
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

After driving almost 8 hours we needed a place to spend the night. Never staying at a Comfort Inn, we decided to give it a go. The only employee working (so she said) was the receptionist. While trying to check us in, she answered the phone, dealt with another guest whose online (Priceline) reservation was pretty much all wrong, dealt with guests who needed various items, etc.

I asked about breakfast offerings and was informed that it would be a hot breakfast with waffles, bacon/sausage, eggs, cereals, etc. Breakfast actually consisted of muffins, English muffins, cereal, juice, coffee, that was it---nothing hot!

To access the floors, the exterior doors were totally open and unsecured for our overnight stay. The receptionist told us they were that way all the time.

After checking in and going to our room we found it had not been cleaned at all from the previous guest. Went back to the receptionist and we were then given another room. Found hairs in the tub, the base of the tub on the outside had built up dirt and grime. On a positive note we did not find bed bugs which we did check for.

I know we will have to return to the area in the future, but the Comfort Inn on Cloverleaf will not be our hotel.

Sorry to give a bad review, but, it is what it is!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Indiana
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

Do not stay here!!! they have have bed bugs. I stayed here and experienced bed bug bites on the last night of my stay and they refused to honor their customer satisfaction guarantee.

Room Tip: do not stay here they have bed bugs!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

We stayed at the Comfort Inn in Houghton lake, just off the freeway, easy to access and find. We found the staff helpful and the hotel was clean. The room was big with 2 queen beds. The pillows were AWESOME!We asked for a room near the pool and got it. The pool was large and had a hot tub beside it. The hot tub wasn't too hot but sufficient, the pool was warm. This is a resort area with lots of places to stay and while the cost for the room, $69 senior rate wasn't expensive.for an overnight stay, if we come again we will try to find a reasonable place on the lake. The breakfast was a continental breakfast with the tradition bagels, toast and english muffins, jellies, apple juice, water, coffee and milk. Three kinds of cereal, variety of yogurt and boiled eggs. You could make your own waffles and they had 2 kinds...that was new to us... Cinnamon flavored too. They were good. The staff was helpful when we asked where they would eat dinner.
Overall this was a nice hotel for our mid-state visit.

Room Tip: book online for the specials. Choice hotels always have some promotion going on that must be booked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
soo, mi
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

We stopped here on our way to Florida when the weather became too bad to continue driving. It had everything I wanted; clean room, comfy beds, a window that opened and quiet. The breakfast was nothing special but it had everything we needed.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 200 Cloverleaf Lane, Houghton Lake, MI 48629 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Houghton Lake)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Houghton Lake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Houghton Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Houghton Lake
Comfort Inn Houghton Lake
Holiday Inn Houghton Lake
Houghton Lake Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.