We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rest and relaxation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of American Oak Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Houghton Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
American Oak Resort
Save Saved
You added American Oak Resort to your Saves list
112 Jefferson, Houghton Lake, MI 48629   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 14 hotels in Houghton Lake
1 review
“Rest and relaxation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

My family and I travelled the weekend of Labor Day with our two pets. We had a fabulous time. The cabin had everything you could need. It was clean and cozy! My family and I rented a pontoon and cruised the lake. We enjoyed every morning waking up, walking to water and sitting on edge of dock enjoying the calm water and warmth of the sun. I would recommend this place to anyone who is looking for a getaway with simple features. We will definitely come back and stay. Looking forward to coming back in the winter to enjoy those activities!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    9
    0
    2
    11
See reviews for
22
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Freeland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

Had a great time clean rooms friendly people. And close to ATV trails.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

We had yet another great time in Houghton Lake and enjoyed our stay at American Oak Resort. It's nice to be able to stay at a place that is not only affordable but has everything you need. Family owned, they put a lot of their own time and money sponsoring TIP-UP-TOWN and grooming the snowmobile trails. Not many people understand how the grooming system works, so just so you know that this owner spends a lot of his own time grooming, when he could be riding and doesn't get paid to do it. So when you see the groomer on the trails there's a good chance that it might be the owner of American Oak Resort. So the next time you want to spend sometime in Houghton Lake, think about what the other place do for you. I just looked at the sponsors for TIP-UP and I don't see the big Hotels even donating towards the even. As people always say buy American, well I say support those that support what we enjoy. So if you ride a sled, ice fish or even enjoy coming up in the summertime support those who support what we enjoy to do. I recommend staying at American Oak Resort...

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulding, Ohio, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

My wife and I stayed for three days in late Oct. 2011. Everything was ready when we arrived. Denise, the attendant was very helpfull and attentive. We stayed in cabin# 6. It was well maintained and very clean. We have already made plans to return for vacation and this will be our choice to stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeo, Michigan
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

My wife and I went up north to get away for a few days and went into American Oaks to reserve a cabin for Friday and Saturday nights, Traci stated that they only had one cabin left and the carpets were being steam cleaned on Friday and the cabin would not be available till saturday so we rented the cabin and a pontoon boat from her for Saturday. On Saturday when we checked in the can smelt like dog urine throughout the entire can, the mattresses were pissed on including the smell of urine on the bedding. I discussed this with the owners and they stated that they had no other cabins and would refund our stay, well a month later still waitng on them to refund my credit card. WE WILL NEVER STAY THERE AGAIN IN OUR LIVES.

Room Tip: If you want to enjoy your weeken or vacation DO NOT STAY HERE
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

We arrived on Wednesday the 18th for a fishing trip. The weather was awful, high winds making whitecaps on the lake. The dock was not in and they told us due to the inclimate weather, the late arrival of spring and the high water it could not have been put in. They had a short 50ft dock in at the end of the road. There was only one other dock in sight. We launched at the DNR launch it was four blocks away. Due to the high winds we did not opt to tie to he dock, because we were afraid of damage from the wind. The cabin was very nice, it had a large flat screen in the living room, and one in each bedroom. The first couple days we wandered about a bit and hit a few of the local watering holes. The Limberlost had good food as did the Long Branch saloon. Both were relatively close to the resort. We also drove about 40 minutes to the casino in Mt Pleasant due to the harsh weather. The weather changed on Friday and the winds calmed down. The weekend was beautiful and the fishing was much better. They put the long dock in on Saturday. We were not promised a dock as another reviewer suggested, and we could fully understand why it wasn't here upon our arrival. We were told it is always in by Memorial Weekend, but before that it was weather dependent. The hosts were very friendly and certainly not deserving of bashing due to mother nature. We will be back but by their suggestion the weather is a bit more fisherman friendly in June. They said early May is a crapshoot. We would reccomend this place to others.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croswell, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

After we checked in and paid cash for our stay, we found out that there was no dock available for our 16' fishing boat. The attendent did her best to try to find someone to put the dock up, but to no avail. We did try to make the best of the situation by tying the boat up on the beach, but the rough conditions caused some damage and filled the boat with water from the waves.
I'm dissapointed because at the time we made the reservation we specifically told the person who took the reservation that we had a boat, but apparently that point was overlooked. If the dock wasn't available until "summer/June", then someone should have said so up front and we would have found somewhere else to stay.
Needless to say, the fishing trip we had spent months planning and saving for was ruined. After 2 frustrating days of pulling the boat in and out at the DNR ramp and fixing the damage along with going to Clare and getting new transponders, we just said to heck with it and went home.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to American Oak Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Oak Resort

Address: 112 Jefferson, Houghton Lake, MI 48629
Location: United States > Michigan > Houghton Lake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Houghton Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
American Oak Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage American Oak Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.