We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shaker's Restaurant

Shaker's Restaurant
1581 W Houghton Lake D, Houghton Lake, MI 48629
(989) 366-5676
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Byron Center, Michigan
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Great place for breakfast. We have been there a couple of times now. Big pancakes! Friendly wait staff! When a mistake is made, they fix it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    9
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roscommon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“If you like liver and onions...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Shakers is by far the best place to get liver and onions. It is served with choice of potato, vegetable of the day, choice of salad, and bread. It is a lot of food for the price. Many places overcook the liver and don't give enough grilled onions. If waiting for a table is a problem for you, an early dinner around 4:00 pm usually gets you right in on a weekday. This is my go to place when I want this meal.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jemez Springs, NM
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good but not great.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Good place for quick meal but not the most spectacular. Had pineapple upside down pancake. It was certainly different but very, very sweet.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyandotte, Michigan
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Try the house salad! Free Wi-Fi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We are regulars at Shaker's. We eat there frequently because of the free Wi-Fi. You usually have to stand in line on Friday evening and even on Saturday and Sunday mornings. Friday fish fry has MANY options. They even have a Senior fish option for light eaters. My hubby likes the Fisherman's Platter. I love their perch. Get the House Salad, if they give you the option. It is really good! Weekend mornings are typical breakfast fare plus seasonal pancakes. Excellent service. They come around frequently with coffee. Sometimes I go in and order just the House Salad. It is that good!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeo, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

If you like broasted chicken,this is the place. Their house salad is excellent and you can get a secound refill! We had to wait several minutes to be seated but it was more than worth it.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shaker's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Shaker's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shaker's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.