We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place on the northeast side of the lake” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spikehorn Restaurant and Lounge

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Spikehorn Restaurant and Lounge
4955 E. Houghton Lake Dr, Houghton Lake, MI 48629
(989) 366-9698
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Troy, MI
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Awesome place on the northeast side of the lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Doesn't matter what you order here, it's all great. We have a place out this way, but if you are staying in the main area of Houghton Lake, West side, take the extra drive time. Totally worth it! Recently remodeled as well and fresh fresh everything. Including draft beers

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    5
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Stopped here and had the pizza. First, our waitress was awesome! I have traveled many places & she was one of the best I have ever seen. This place is an out of the way bar & grill on the North side of Houghton Lake but a gem. Great pizza, handmade crust, fresh toppings & just the right amount of sauce. This place is worth the drive around the lake.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“An Up-North Bar with Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We have been going to Spikehorn's for years and have had consistently good food. Spikehorn's is an up-north bar, complete with Bud and Miller mirror signs on the wall, electronic games and the requisite pool table. As an up-north bar, the beer selections will be limited to commonly desired ones (i.e. those advertised in NASCAR races) and wine selections will be limited. Of course, the bar is stocked with most liquors. If you are seeking more eclectic beer and wine choices and that is a priority to you, there are better choices (the Springbrook Inn in Prudenville comes to mind). But if you want reasonable drink prices, this place is great. Last Saturday, my friend had a double Tanqueray and tonic for only $3.75.

Second, this is a family bar/restaurant. We always see families there with young and teen-aged children. The atmosphere is completely appropriate for youngsters, parents, and grandparents. This is NOT a "lose your teeth in a fight" kind of bar.

Third, casual dress is the norm. During the winter, snowmobilers leave their sleds in the side lot and wear their ride attire as they eat. During the summer, boaters do not pull up to the restaurant, mainly because Spikehorn's is about a quarter mile inland. T-shirts and jeans are common.

Fourth, this is a place that locals frequent. But during the summer, and good weather winter weekends, many downstaters also head here. So Friday and Saturday nights can be busy, with a wait for tables (although there are many tables in the place). Spikehorn's does offer carry-out. A plus is the wait staff are friendly and efficient. We have consistently received good service.

But the real reason to go is for the food -- it is consistently really good. This is our favorite place for fish, especially the walleye and perch. The bluegill is very good, although a bit saltier than perch, but only available when it is a special for the night. My friend savors the fried chicken; I like their barbeque ribs. The pizzas and Mexican dishes are also good. The only thing I really don't care for are the pasties, but I've lived in the western Upper Peninsula, home of great pasties, so my tastes are a bit skewed for that item. Expect the side dishes to be better quality canned green beans -- the sides aren't as good as the main dishes. The coleslaw is good, but the containers for it are small -- four ounces.

So follow the beacon for the Roscommon County Airport (the restaurant is located almost across the street) on the east side of Houghton Lake for a decent meal.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beverage disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

The Spikehorn offers a large selection of menu items each of which are prepared well and are quite good tasting. The disappointment comes in their beverages. The wine selection is basic and is poured from individual sized bottles. The draft beer consists of Bud , Bud light, and Labatts. Michigan has some of the best microbreweries in the country yet you wouldn't know it here. Need to add some variety especially for the non homesteaders

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Nice up north feel. Good food, try the walleye. Also very good pizza. Drink prices are good. The wait staff is vary friendly and the service is fast. They are vary busy on Fridays but the wait is not bad.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spikehorn Restaurant and Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Spikehorn Restaurant and Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spikehorn Restaurant and Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.