We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Houghton Lake

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Houghton Lake to your Saves list
Super 8 Houghton Lake
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   9580 W Lake City Rd, M-55 & US 127, Houghton Lake, MI 48629   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Houghton Lake
Portland, Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very nice place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I was traveling with my 2 daughters on the way up north. We had stayed at other places in Houghton Lake. From now on I think this will be the place to stay.

There isn't anything special about the Super 8. Rooms were clean and comfortable. We didn't stay for breakfast as there wasn't any room to sit.

The people were friendly.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    58
    39
    14
    9
See reviews for
67
38
13
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Level Contributor
143 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Room was clean and comfortable, though basic, as you would expect from a Super 8. A chain restaurant and a fast food within walking distance. Otherwise, isolated at a freeway interchange. While the room was comfortable, the plain table would have served well as a desk except that there was no outlet within reach for a light or for a computer. No elevator. Helpful staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houghton Lake, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

The hotel manager has a very bad attitude. we recently stayed at the super 8 in houghton lake.
night 1: AC goes out, they look at it, it works for a little bit, at 3 a.m it starts making a clunking noise waking up us and our 2 children, they moved us to a new room.
night 2: the AC unit in the new rooms plug actually sparked and had a small fire, to which it took them over 10 minutes to come to the room, and they didnt believe us when we went down to tell them and were sarcastic with us.
I talked to the super 8 customer service, they gave us a free room for the events that happened there.

When we tried booking our free room the hotel manager, wynitta (not sure on spelling) told us there was no rooms available, i checked online and they had almost every room available, we were lied to. I called back about 6 hours later, the clerk said they had rooms open, and when I told her I would like to book our free night, she told wynitta, and I could hear her in the background saying that they have no rooms available all while I was staring at all the vacancy online. She had an attitude about the situation from the start, which I felt was very unecessary. we spent anywhere's from $300-$500 at that hotel in the nights we were there, you would think she would have been grateful for our stay.

The hotel itself is nice, the pool area is a good place for kids to swim, however me and my family will never stay at this location again as long as she's managing it.

I would give it a high rating, but bad customer service made the whole experience horrible. I added a photo of the plug that cought fire while we stayed here

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

There was hair in the bathtub and on shower walls. There was a waterline stain in the toilet.The breakfast was minimal. First day there were a few banans, second day no fruit. After that there were apples. There was a basket labeled cinnamon rolls, but there were no cinnamon rolls for four days. Housekeeping staff was friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leesburg indiana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Travelling from Indiana, this was our 1st trip to this area so we relied totally on tripadvisor reviews for our hotel. We originally booked for 4 nights and it was such a pleasant area & hotel that we extended our stay by 1 more night. From start to finish, you cannot beat this hotel for comfort, friendliness & price. We booked during one of Super 8's promotions, and when I called the hotel to ask a few questions, the gal was able to give me an even better rate than the online special. Not much, about another $1.50 a day off, but hey, who doesn't like a deal! We paid $60 a night for a king efficiency including taxes. We've stayed all over the Midwest, and would return here again in a minute. It was so peaceful to sleep at night. The pool is wonderful, and should win an award on decorations alone! Breakfast is the cold variety, average asst of fruit, cereal, muffins & coffee. But with what we saved on our room, we could eat breakfast out if we wanted. Thank you to the staff for making our stay so great!

Room Tip: We called ahead and requested 1st floor if available & it was provided.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owosso, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Me and my wife stayed there while visiting my family and it was nice and quite the staff was great and the rooms were really clean.....................................

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

Have come to this exact hotel for three years now and have never been disappointed. We are particularly taken by the charming decor. The pool, hot tub, and sauna are also a great hit with the kids (get a room near the pool!). Much recommended!

Room Tip: If you have kids, get near the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Super 8 Houghton Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Houghton Lake

Address: 9580 W Lake City Rd, M-55 & US 127, Houghton Lake, MI 48629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Houghton Lake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Houghton Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Houghton Lake 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Wyndham, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Super 8 Houghton Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Houghton Lake Hotel Houghton Lake
Super Eight Houghton Lake
Houghton Lake Super Eight
Houghton Lake Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Houghton Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.