We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you read here is true” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Atrium Plaza Hotel and Conference Center Houghton Lake

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Houghton Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Atrium Plaza Hotel and Conference Center Houghton Lake
9285 W Lake City Rd, Houghton Lake, MI 48629 (Formerly Quality Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 14 hotels in Houghton Lake
Stratford, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Everything you read here is true”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

I travel a lot with my job and this place was so bad it was almost commical. The kid at the front desk told me that if I didnt need a receipt and would pay cash, he was "cool" with $40 cash for the nights stay. I got into my room and no joke, there was a bullet hole in the wall.

I just slept on top of the sheets at night in my clothes and checked out at 6am the next morning.

For $40 cash it was an experience to tell my friends about. I certainly wont be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    3
    0
    1
    12
See reviews for
1
3
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011 via mobile

I have never seen anything like this. Driving in, we thought we'd been given the wrong address. It looked like an abandoned building. Inside was just as bad. No, make that worse. The rooms were dirty and smelly. There was blood on our bathroom wall. The pink sheets ( yes...pink) were stained. There was a pile of sand/dirt under the window in the corner of the room, looked like it was coming from the outside. You could hear mice scratching during the night. Please shut down this establishment!!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Orion, MI
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

I agree with all of the other posts regarding cleanliness. But the worse part is the manager and staff! We booked a room well in advance, only to arrive and be told they gave our room away...too bad. The manager claimed they had no other rooms...an employee disagreed with him, and the manager told him to "Shut up and stay out of it." The two proceeded to argue, with the manager claiming he could do whatever he wanted "to us people." We left and went to Comfort Inn across the street. Very clean, very nice. The "Lack of Quality Inn" needs to be shut down!! Gross!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carbondale
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2009

I dont know how this hotel is still operating. I never seen such a terribly run hotel, that is soo rundown. The staff is very incompetent and they dont know how to run a business. The building is out-dated, filled with mold, running water, leaks in the roof, dirty linens, etc. I can go on and on, this place needs to be shut down. They are holding a medical school 5th semester here now and they shouldnt be able to operate. The hotel is in no condition to be able to operate. The place smells really bad and looks like its going to fall apart. Their is soo much mold in the building, that I am suprised the health department is not there to shut them down. I already made complaints to the BBB about this facility and hope they will clean up there act.

Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, MI
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2009

If you like the strong smell of curry and the feeling that you are being ripped-off to fund the owner's relatives in the old country then stay here. Otherwise avoid it like the plague (and unless you want to get the plague). There is nothing good to say about this lame establishment. Apparently some 'entrerenures' bought a run down former Quality Inn and are letting it run down even more whilst they fleece unsuspecting travelers for all they can get. Do not stay here under any circumstances unless you are desperate and so drunk out of your mind that you wont notice the horrid surroundings. All in all, a microcosm of a Bombay slum in otherwise beautiful Northern Michigan.

Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2009

Where should I start? The smell in the lobby? Or the dirty stained carpets? Or how about the bed bugs and mice in the rooms? Lets not mention the water stained roof tiles.

If you are looking for a great place to stay, try the Motel 6 or Comfort Inn across the street - this place is more frightening than your parents old basement.

This Hotel advertises "A warm pool and a hot spa"..turns out when it rains, the rainwater drips into the dirty pool. How delightful!

The so-called fitness center consists of an outdated self powered trendmill, and one of those pull down machines you would have seen advertised in the mid 1980's.

No pets are allowed, but not to worry, the Hotel provides plenty of free Mice for your petting fancy...have fun!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo MI
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2009

The second floor is now used as a boarding house. Need I say more ?

Ice machines all broken, vending machines all empty. Pool locked and closed.

The "upgraded rooms" is stark white paint over the vinyl wallcoverings.

Great place for a murder/horror movie.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Atrium Plaza Hotel and Conference Center Houghton Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atrium Plaza Hotel and Conference Center Houghton Lake

Address: 9285 W Lake City Rd, Houghton Lake, MI 48629 (Formerly Quality Inn)
Location: United States > Michigan > Houghton Lake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 hotels in Houghton Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Houghton Lake
Atrium Plaza Houghton Lake
Houghton Lake Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atrium Plaza Hotel and Conference Center Houghton Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Atrium Plaza Hotel and Conference Center Houghton Lake to your Saves list