We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1110 Century Way, M-26 & Sharon Avenue, Houghton, MI 49931   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Houghton
Saint Clair Shores, Michigan
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We were traveling through the Upper Peninsula with our Golden Retriever, and booked the Holiday Inn Express Houghton-Keweenaw as one of our stays. We arrived a little early for check-in, but Mary was able to find us a dog-friendly first floor room that was available immediately. Very gracious at check-in. We loved the clean, comfortable room. The shower was very nice and invigorating! Breakfast was good and we enjoyed staying at this hotel. Check out had a very minor glitch that Ann took care of quickly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHoughton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
We were glad to be able to accommodate your canine friend during your visit. I am glad to hear it was an enjoyable visit. We hope you will visit us again the next time you visit the Keweenaw! Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    41
    20
    3
    1
See reviews for
35
23
7
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dearborn, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We originally were only going to spend one night in the area, but with so much to see, we decided to extend our stay an additional day. Although the hotel was nearly booked for the second day, Mary went out of her way to make sure we were able to stay the additional day in the same room.
Kim was a great resource telling us what local attractions to be sure to see and the best restaurants in the area for dining.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHoughton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your visit to our area so much that you wanted to stay another day! There is so much to see and do in the Keweenaw. I appreciate you taking time to share your experiances. We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holt, Michigan, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The staff at the hotel were very friendly and accommodating during our stay. The hotel was easy to find and located just on the edge of the business district of Houghton. The rooms were very clean and up to date and we had a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHoughton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It is wonderful to hear from our guests, we appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences. Hopefully we will see you in Houghton again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Illinois
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Very typical Holiday Inn Express. Nice, clean, comfortable room. Ours was larger than what I am used to. The staff was nice and helpful. We did not use it but the pool area was nice. We did use the fitness room which was ok but had no air conditioning. It was extremely hot in there. This place (like all the places in the area) is very pricey. Overall a good stay and I will probably choose it again the next time I am In the Houghton area.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHoughton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for taking time to tell us about your stay with us. We love to hear from our guests. Thank you for mentioning the temperature in the fitness center. It is something we are looking into correcting. I hope you will come stay with us again when you find yourself in the Houghton area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Accomodating and pleasant staff. Large , Clean updated room. Nice pool with sauna Good breakfast typical of chain. What you would expect. Location is near shopping and restaurants away from center of town.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHoughton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
We appreciate you posting your review on Trip Advisor. It is always good to hear from our guesta about their stays with us. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraser, MI
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in June 2013. The room was very clean and comfortable. All furniture is up to date and the bed was very comfortable. All in all, what you hope for in this type of hotel. And since I need to provide at least 200 characters, blah, blah, blah, blah.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed here with my sister and my two little boys(2 & 5). I reserved a two queen room and asked for a rollaway bed. When we arrived, we found out that the pool was closed because it was being painted. That was disappointing. However, we were given a large room which included a pull out sofa. The room was on the top floor at the end of the hallway which was great with two energetic boys! The room was spotless and the beds were very comfortable! I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw

Address: 1110 Century Way, M-26 & Sharon Avenue, Houghton, MI 49931
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Houghton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Houghton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Houghton-Keweenaw, offering the finest accommodations to business travelers, vacationers, snowmobilers, skiers, and teams. Only 8 miles from the Houghton County Airport (CMX), we are conveniently located on the corner of Sharon Ave. and M-26, minutes away from MTU and Finlandia University. Corporate travelers catch up with work with free wireless Internet and the use of our business center. After business, exercise in our fitness center and relax in our indoor pool, sauna, and whirlpool. Leisure travelers enjoy our spacious two-room suites and bring the family pet. Start your day, with our complimentary hot item breakfast bar. Snowmobilers: our large parking lot accommodates sleds with trailers, with easy access to the snowmobile trails. Downhill skiing or snowboarding is always fun with night skiing and a snowboard park at Mount Ripley. Mount Bohemia, offers glade skiing with the largest vertical drop in the Midwest, overlooking beautiful Lake Superior. Cross-Country trails include the Maasto Hiihto and MTU trails.The Holiday Inn Express Houghton-Keweenaw invites visiting athletic teams.Businesses near hotel: MTU, Finlandia University, Somero Enterprises, Portage Point, Dan s Polaris. Attractions near hotel: snowmobiling, downhill, skiing, Historical Downtown Houghton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw Hotel Houghton
Holiday Inn Houghton
Houghton Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.