We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hotel has always been clean and the staff friendly. I...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Houghton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Houghton to your Saves list
Super 8 Houghton
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1200 East Lakeshore Drive, N on Lake St From US 41, Houghton, MI 49931   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Houghton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    135
    57
    11
    8
See reviews for
138
71
10
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marquette
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

My husband and I travel to Houghton every winter for a little getaway. We love staying at the Super 8 with it's location right on the canal and view of the ski hill and town. It's a short walk into the downtown to local restaurants, brewery and shops. The only problem we experienced was that the hot tub was not warm the morning that we checked out, however it was hot for the other parts of our stay. Overall a nice stay and we will be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric W, General Manager at Super 8 Houghton, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you for your many visits to our hotel and sharing your comments with us. I am sorry the hot tub (whirlpool) was not up to temp in the morning of your departure. Our boiler did go down in the early morning hours but we were able to get it fixed later that morning and the temp was restored to the normal operating range. We look forward to having another opportunity to serve you again, this time with a nice warm hot tub. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Great location fare price. Service was friendly. Cont. breakfast was very weak. No selection. Only thing hot was waffles and the line was backed up to long to wait.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grabill
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

This is by far my favorite Super 8 and I always look forward to staying there. The location is awesome, right between campus and downtown, and the views of the portage and Mont Ripley are great too!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric W, General Manager at Super 8 Houghton, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are glad to here that you enjoyed your stay at the Super 8 and hope to have another opportunity to serve you again in the future. Again, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Houghton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Houghton

Address: 1200 East Lakeshore Drive, N on Lake St From US 41, Houghton, MI 49931
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Houghton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Houghton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Houghton 2*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Super 8 Houghton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Houghton Hotel Houghton
Super Eight Houghton
Houghton Super 8
Houghton Super Eight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Houghton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.