We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“like what a Finnish Grandmother would serve....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Suomi

Suomi
54 Huron St, Houghton, MI 49931
906 482 3220
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 40 Restaurants in Houghton
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Hell, Michigan
Top Contributor
402 reviews 402 reviews
251 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
233 helpful votes 233 helpful votes
“like what a Finnish Grandmother would serve....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stopped here for lunch and we really enjoyed our lunch. I had never had stuffed pepper soup and it was very good. I've had pasties throughout the UP and these were really good and were stuffed full of meat and vegetables. My wife ordered the pannukakku (Finnish pancakes) and these were really good. I had some of hers and treated it like dessert. The service was good and the historical pictures on the wall were cool. Well worth the stop

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    36
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Love This Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I've been going to the Suomi for years, since about mid-1970's and the quality is still there! Great food, yummy pasties AND delish cookies!!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Providence, New Jersey
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Best breakfast you'll ever have!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

You can't go wrong with a standard egg/meat/potato/toast breakfast, but their homemade bread and local sausage really put a traditional breakfast into a new category of delicious. If you're only in town for a few days, be sure to try the pannukakku or their pancakes...unlike any you'll have ever again. A great local place that never gets it wrong. Lunch is great, too!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Street, Maryland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Pasty paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

If you want to get a first rate pasty, go here! Get a taste of a UP tradition. We've tried some other pasties, but always love the ones we get here. Didn't try other menu items on our visit. Located downtown near the water.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia Island, Florida
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“find some place else if you want good food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Like another reviewer said, nothing terrible, but nothing special. I don't feel I got my money's worth with the veggieburger, the atmosphere was unremarkable and the booths need new reupholstering--and by the way, saying it had good Finnish specialties is not a selling point--not one of the world's best cuisines.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Suomi also viewed

Houghton, Upper Peninsula
Houghton, Upper Peninsula
 

Been to Suomi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suomi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.