We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thought it wouldn't be much--boy, was I wrong!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mineral Museum of Michigan

Mineral Museum of Michigan
1404 East Sharon Avenue, Michigan Technological University, Houghton, MI 49931
(906) 487-2572
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 7 Attractions in Houghton
Type: Museums
Attraction details
Glenwood, Illinois
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Thought it wouldn't be much--boy, was I wrong!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I was on the campus to take pictures of the football field when I stumbled onto this gem (pun intended) of a place! I lucked out and was there on a free day, too, so I even saved a few bucks. Not somewhere to spend an entire day, but a good place to roam around for an hour or two. In the back was a blacklight room that had some interesting minerals that sparkled quite brightly in the light. A lot was also there that dealt with the history of the area. I recommend everyone visiting this museum.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    6
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, WI
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Impressive collection!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This museum far exceeded my expectations of a mineral museum. There were so many specimens that my friends and I didn't have time to see them all. I especially enjoyed the exhibits that showed items made from various metals and minerals--very eduational!
My friends and I received a discount because we were attending a mineral retreat in the area. A great place for adults and children alike!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinelander, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Impressive!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This is a world-class museum with a dazzling array of specimens. Brand new building. Everything first-rate.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Rocks and Minerals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This museum has a huge selection of rocks and minerals exhibited. It is very interesting and laid out well. Eventually, they plan on moving up by the Quincy Mine from what I've read which will be much more convenient than trying to find it up in the hills of the city. The gift shop is very nice with a great selection and display of handiwork made from rocks and minerals. We enjoyed it. Allow a couple of hours.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“I am just an amateur”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I have never been into rocks . . at all. You walk in and it is $3 a person which is not bad at all for everything you can see! There are so many rocks you can not keep track of all the names. My favorite was the dinosaur case. There was a fossilized dinosaur bone, egg, and reptiles that I am sure any person would love to see. You can also see diamonds that are "raw" or not cut at all. Very interesting place. And the back room has glow stones. Neat!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mineral Museum of Michigan also viewed

Houghton, Upper Peninsula
Houghton, Upper Peninsula
 
Hancock, Upper Peninsula
Houghton, Upper Peninsula
 

Been to Mineral Museum of Michigan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mineral Museum of Michigan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.