We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful pasties, coffee & pastries” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roy's Pasties and Bakery

Roy's Pasties and Bakery
305 West Lakeshore Drive, Houghton, MI
(906) 487-6166
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 40 Restaurants in Houghton
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful pasties, coffee & pastries”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Great pasties. Not just conventional pasties, but vegetarian and "breakfast" pasties too. We just had the conventional pasties, which were as good as I've had anywhere in more than 40 years of eating pasties.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    11
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
S.E. MI
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Very good sandwiches, high prices, no frills.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We went for lunch on a lovely summer day, we sat outside overlooking the portage canal and bridge but it's not right on the water. The sandwiches were very good, but they don't come with anything else, it's just a simple (but good) sandwich shop. I think $8.00 + is a lot for a simple sandwich.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Taste of the UP”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

A variety of fresh-baked pasties and other baked goods, including bread and breakfast pastries. Building has vaulted ceilings, lot of windows and views of the water.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Pt NC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“"Good pasties, Great sweets"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I had the luxury of trying a few different offerings from this gem on the waterfront this month. Their new location is located right on the water, with a view of the lift bridge. Very scenic. Tables outside to enjoy when the weather is nice. The pasties are good. A small pasty is only $5.00 and I do not consider that expensive considering the work that goes into them. A small pasty is plenty big for an adult. Plenty of meat, and very tasty. I also tried their donuts and an almond flavor cream filled pastry. Yummy is the word. One bite does not satisfy. If you buy more than one pastry, consider your willpower already worn out. You won't have any. For lunch they also offer a variety of sandwiches for around $6.00. All you get is a sandwich. Drinks are bottled drinks or offerings from their fountain, or fresh coffee. For around $20.00 you can eat lunch for 2 with dessert. There is no table service. You order at the counter, and choose your seat. Self service.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Tasty filling, but pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

The reviews were good and we need to get an official U.P. pastie. The reviews about this place being a little expensive are correct. I would go somewhere else in the future.

That being said, the filling in the traditional pastie was delicious! The crust was not flaky enough for my liking. They also had a cucumber mint punch that was too sweet for me, but my husband loved it.

If you're looking to grab something quick and sit by the river, it's ok.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roy's Pasties and Bakery also viewed

Houghton, Upper Peninsula
Houghton, Upper Peninsula
 
Houghton, Upper Peninsula
Houghton, Upper Peninsula
 

Been to Roy's Pasties and Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roy's Pasties and Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.