We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great atmosphere & good beer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Keweenaw Brewing Company

Keweenaw Brewing Company
408 Shelden Ave, Houghton, MI
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 40 Restaurants in Houghton
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Hell, Michigan
Top Contributor
404 reviews 404 reviews
252 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
233 helpful votes 233 helpful votes
“great atmosphere & good beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

We only get to Houghton about once every year or 2 but KBC is a place we enjoy stopping to enjoy a beer. We were there yesterday and it was packed but we were able to find 2 seats at the bar. The Dryhouse stout was a pleasant tasting beer to enjoy afterwalking around campus to look at the snow statues. The staff was friendly and KBC had a pleasant vibe which is why we keep coming back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    25
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing beer, amazing atmosphere, amazing memories.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Words cannot express how much I loved this place. The KBC was without a doubt the place to be while at Tech. The best part of the KBC has to be the fact that they serve amazing locally brewed beer for $2.50 a pint, and they don't skimp on the pints either. They fill those glasses to the rim. Some people may be upset that the KBC doesn't serve food, but that is part of it's charm. You can bring food in and eat it there (I've seen people bring crock pots and cook stew and chili). I've ordered many pizzas and had it delivered right to my table and enjoyed the college staple of beer and pizza. There is nothing like fresh Widowmaker from the tap of the KBC.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marquette, Michigan
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Here for the Beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

The KBC is always a great place to stop and try the local brews. Great atmosphere! The beer selection is very good. I always am up to try something new.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Fun Times”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Was here for a wedding - fun times!

Great to see the brewery in the pub - lots of great beers here - small batches too.

Fun to sit outside or inside - plenty of space everywhere

Food is only OK

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious beer, cheap prices.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Nice variety of beers, super low prices! The atmosphere was very relaxed. Its kind of a bummer that they dont serve food but its not a total deal breaker because theres a pizza place directly next door. Cool little hangout.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Keweenaw Brewing Company also viewed

Houghton, Upper Peninsula
Houghton, Upper Peninsula
 

Been to Keweenaw Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Keweenaw Brewing Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.