We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than most in Houghton” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pilgrim River Steakhouse

Pilgrim River Steakhouse
47409 Us Highway 41, Houghton, MI 49931-9016
906-482-8595
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 40 Restaurants in Houghton
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Ojai, California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Better than most in Houghton”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

After a poor steak dinner in town a couple nights before, this was a truly nice surprise. Nothing great and not sure I would go here if it was in my town...but, the service was great. The steak was cooked perfectly, the wine list was decent. You get a lot of food...so make sure you go hungry or pack up food for later. I had the petit filet and shrimp. As I said earlier, the steak was cooked perfectly. The shrimp were simply okay. We ordered fried mushrooms as an appetizer and they were very good. My beef and noodle soup was excellent and well seasoned and normally, I would've liked it as my meal. The rest of the family was happy as well.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    27
    11
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly service, nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

This is one of our favorites, with consistently good food and service. The prime rib is always good, you can't go wrong with the spinach salad, and the soups are always hearty and tasty. You get both soup and salad with your entree, so you won't leave hungry.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkersburg, West Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dinner and some down time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Low key dining with great food and service! Food was excellent and the staff very helpful. The place was easy to find and had parking - always a challenge when you get 80+ inches of snow by mid-December. The beer was good, the wine was good - dinner was not rushed - all in all a relaxed and easy atmosphere for a break from the rush-rush life that sometimes catches us.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice but was Expecting More”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

It was a busy weekend in Houghton with Michigan Tech's Parents Weekend in full swing, so we felt lucky to get a reservation here at the time we wanted…prime dinner hour. And we did have a nice meal, but it just wasn't anything special. There were five of us…3 ordered the rib eye, 1 the lake trout, and 1 the petite filet. My 2 hungry college boys were happy to see that the meals came with soup AND salad AND a potato…so the food was plentiful but it was just wasn't the "up north steakhouse" experience we were hoping for. And the food, although tasty, was more average than anything special.
We did sit in the dining room to the left – which seemed newer, so any ambience the other dining room might have had wasn't there. And like another reviewer mentioned, the chairs are uncomfortable and tricky – as they seem to be simply a wooden folding chair with a cushion.
We all had a creamy French onion soup – which was a new one to all of us. The soup, although good, was missing the typical French onion soup goodness of caramelized onions. The salads were okay as well – no one complained – but the majority of us had caesar salads (one of the choices, which was nice) and it wasn't a true casaer as might be found in other steakhouses. One of us had the spinach salad (another option) and it was very good with a hot bacon dressing.
The fish and steaks were good – but we've had better. Service was typical – nothing to complain about – but nothing again, nothing special.
Don't get me wrong – this is a nice place for dinner. We were there on a busy night with a line practically out the door. We were fairly happy with our meal – but a little let down with the anticipation of more of a northern supper club type experience - which it is not. Service – friendly, but somewhat rushed. Food – decent. Price – in line for the meal and the experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, IA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Really good prime rib”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We were in Houghton visiting our daughter at Michigan Tech. We took her out to Pilgrim River for a nice meal while we were in town. The prime rib, both the roasted and grilled which was the special that night was very good. It was very tender and had a good flavor. The only gripe I have about this restaurant is that they have the most uncomfortable chairs I have ever dined in.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pilgrim River Steakhouse also viewed

Houghton, Upper Peninsula
Houghton, Upper Peninsula
 

Been to Pilgrim River Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pilgrim River Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.