We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, Clean comfortable room.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Holland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Holland to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites Holland
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2854 West Shore Drive, Holland, MI 49424   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Holland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Location, Clean comfortable room.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This property was undergoing renovations at the time of my visit, and they properly informed about it before booking. That itself says a lot.
This is a well located , well maintained and very clean hotel. My room was big. Beds and bathroom fresh and clean as well. Internet was fast and free. Breakfast could be better, but good although it was included and a was being served in a temporary guest room while renovations were done. Great cost benefit ratio. Receptionists were friendly and had great tips about restaurants. By the way, there is an awesome teppanyaki and sushi bar only one block away.
Enough parking and close to highways.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    40
    11
    3
    7
See reviews for
38
26
3
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The Fairfield Inn at Holland was good enough for a one night stay on our vacation around the great lakes area. It is a typical Marriott property, which is a good thing. I appreciate the standardization and no surprises that come with a Marriott property. The room was typical Marriott cleanliness, quality and service... all good. The hot breakfast was good - eggs, sausage, belgian waffles, and the usual cereal, juice and pastries.

Something overlooked by some motels, but that Fairfield had covered well was electrical outlets. Let's count the need - 3 cell phones, iPod, laptop, mobile Mifi hotspot, two digital camera batteries. I had outlets for all of them without having to use one of my outlet multiplexors.

The only two oddities we found we observed were the use of 4 small square pillows per queen size bed instead of the normal 3 rectangular pillows, and the tight parking around the property. The smallish square pillows definitely felt a little weird and took some getting used to, but we got to sleep anyway. I'd also have to say that Marriott squeezed a 3-story hotel in the smallest postage stamp sized lot I have seen. If you drive a large truck or van park in the front parking spaces or be very careful.... your vehicle will need to have an extremely small turning radius to turn into most of the parking spaces around the side or back.

One last thing... we were abruptly awoken at 3:45 AM from the very loud alarm clock beside the beds!! Apparently the housekeeping staff forgot to reset the alarm from the previous guest, and we didn't think to inspect the alarm clock ourselves. Shame on the Fairfield and shame on us!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Arriving at the hotel on a Friday in summer to reserve a room for the night, we were greeted by Dave at the desk. He was so pleasant and helpful. His rooms were more expensive than I wanted to spend and he took the time to call other hotels in the area and even in another town for us. Since he was so helpful - we decided to stay there despite the high price of a room. He was so helpful with directions to the beach, and town. This hotel was very nice - but the best part of our stay were the excellent employees!!

Room Tip: It may be cheaper if you plan ahead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Terrific new renovations at this location. Clean. Nicely updated. Continental breakfast is adequate in taste but generous in variety. "Corner Market" is small but a nice addition for options. Friendly service.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Hotel was immaculate, roomy, modern. Customer service was excellent. Breakfast was good.
I made last minute plans to attend graduation at nearby Hope College. Extended family was at another hotel, but it was sold out.

I called the afternoon I was checking in to be sure they would hold the room as I was arriving late. There was a miss-up in the dates, which was most likely an error. They got it fixed right away.

My room and breakfast area were very spacious and seemed like new. The front desk person was extremely helpful with directions and information.

I ended up leaving an article of clothing hanging in the closet. They quickly found it and mailed it to me. It was a bit pricey for a Fairfield, but I think that was because it was graduation weekend and I booked just a few days before.

I didn't have a car, so at one point I walked to Gap outlet and to the hotel where my sisters were. It was around a mile and seemed very safe (through parking lots) on a Sunday morning. The classic Holland theme park was very near as were affordable restaurants.

I have only stayed at two other properties in Holland, but I feel certain that Fairfield Inn is one of the nicer places to stay, especially if you participate in Marriott rewards . It seems much cleaner, newer than Country Inn. Residence Inn is also nice, but I found the staff friendlier/more helpful here and the location seemed more convenient.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

For only $90 my friend and I stayed in a four star (our rating) hotel. The room was elegant and immaculate. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. And the complimentary breakfast was huge. I will definitely be staying at a Fairfield Inn again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpena Michigan
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The hotel is under renovation the room I had was completed very nice. The noise was a bit much but they stopped working around 8 started again around 7 I was there for work so it was okay. Desk staff very nice, helpful would stay again. Typically stay at Hilton chain but employer made reservation. Breakfast bar pretty good. Very clean comfortable customer service 5 stars.

Room Tip: maybe after the renovations are complete
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Holland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Holland

Address: 2854 West Shore Drive, Holland, MI 49424
Location: United States > Michigan > Ottawa County > Holland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Holland
#6 Family Hotel in Holland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Holland 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Holland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Holland Hotel Holland
Fairfield Holland
Holland Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Holland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.