We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“$179.49 for tiny room and whitish crusty junk on underside of coverlet.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree Hotel Holland

Save Saved
You added Doubletree Hotel Holland to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Holland
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   650 E. 24th St., Holland, MI 49423 (Formerly Holiday Inn Holland)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Last Minute Deals!
Ranked #8 of 18 hotels in Holland
Howell, Michigan
1 review
“$179.49 for tiny room and whitish crusty junk on underside of coverlet.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Ick, this was an awful experience. The room was tiny, the bathroom tinier. There was barely room to open or close the bath door because the toilet cleared the door by only 2 or 3 inches and could not open wide because it hit the tub. I felt like I was in a travel trailer! The tune topper was the crusty stuff on the underside of the red coverlet on the bed. I'm now sure if it was body fluids or food, but it was gross. I expected something much better than this for this price, Hilton certainly has let things get very bad at this particular hotel and I would never blindly pick a Doubletree Hotel on the internet again. Learned my lesson.

Room Tip: Call hotel and inquire about room size, our room was incredibly tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susanna W, Director of Sales at Doubletree Hotel Holland, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your valuable feedback. I'm sorry for the challenges you experienced while at DoubleTree by Hilton Holland. I will follow up with our housekeeping team regarding the cleanliness issues you experienced, as that is completely unacceptable and not typical of the DoubleTree. We are also in the midst of a renovation that will allow for more useable square footage in the bathroom. Customer satisfaction is our number one priority, and your feedback better helps provide an excellent guest experience. Thank you again, and I hope we will have the chance to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    116
    98
    66
    31
    16
See reviews for
118
76
8
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

i visited holland and stayed at this hotel for two nights, the room is nice and clean. the only problem i had was the housekeeper forgot to fix and clean the room so we have to make her clean it when i got there late afternoon. if you dont like nose at all, i suggest to avoid the room near the pool coz the kids are a bit loud in the morning and night but i didnt mind that.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar Z, Front Office Manager at Doubletree Hotel Holland, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your comments and concerns. The pool side rooms can generate a bit of noise depending on the occupancy of the pool. After all the pool is one of our ammenities that draw guests in. In the future I would suggest a room facing the outer perimeter of the hotel. We do apologize for the confusion with the housekeeping staff but are happy that we were able to finally get your room serviced for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This hotel was clean, comfortable with an attentive staff at a good price! Breakfast was excellent and an added bonus! When in Holland this would make an excellent choice! Oh the cookie at check in was very nice also.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

had our annual conference there. staff was rude to us. had to do our own vaccuumming of the floor before the meeting started. glasses were dirty. no communication between the desk staff and kitchen. could not get bill when we left, since charges had not been posted. Asked for a final bill and was told it would not be ready til Monday and the person who handles that was not in. ASked about disputes, was told to leave credit card number and dispute could be handled later.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar Z, Front Office Manager at Doubletree Hotel Holland, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
I would like to apologize for the breakdown in communication during your event. It is not acceptable for you to have to perform the tasks you listed in your review prior to your meeting. Please be assured that your concerns have been forwarded to the department manager are we are taking steps to make sure that we are able to exceed your expectations for future events. Thank you for your review and hope that you will allow us a second chance to extend our hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Lake, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This hotel is great! Comfortable, clean and spacious rooms. Beautiful lobby and a friendly staff. With all that said, if you are a couple looking for a peaceful visit, request a room far form the pool area. Open hours are 6am till 11pm and it gets LOUD!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar Z, Front Office Manager at Doubletree Hotel Holland, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
We would like to thank you for selecting the DoubleTree by Hilton for your recent stay in Holland. We appreciate your kind review and are glad to hear that our staff are personable and our property is to your liking. The pool area does at times become loud depending on the number of guests. We hope that you will continue to stay with us when visiting the Holland area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed at the this property for business purposes. The hotel appears to be recently remodeled. The hotel is situated on a one-way highway so finding the entrance proved to be a bit difficult. The lobby was wonderful and the staff were very accomadating. I utilized the pool and spa which were very clean. The hot tub was nice and hot and they had plenty of clean pool towels available for use. My room was on the 2nd floor. When checking in ask for a pool view or pool side room. The bathroom in the room was very small, but all the other amenities were standard for a Doubletree Property. I will stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a poolside or view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar Z, Front Office Manager at Doubletree Hotel Holland, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
We would like to thank you for your kind words, it is always a pleasure to hear of guests who have had a pleasant stay at our property. We are looking in to ways to utilize the entire room space and thereby making the bathroom more spacious. Please be assured that we take these reviews seriously and the information will be passed along to the appropriate department. Again, thank you for your review and your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coldwater, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The room was very clean and the bed was really comfortable. I always love the warm cookie upon check-in. Speedy check -in and close to restaurants. It was also easy to get to. The room décor was modern and up to date. Nice TV too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar Z, Front Office Manager at Doubletree Hotel Holland, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for choosing the DoubleTree by Hilton for your recent stay here in Holland. We appreciate your kind review and hope to see you when you return to the area. We will have warm cookies waiting for you!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Doubletree Hotel Holland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Holland

Address: 650 E. 24th St., Holland, MI 49423 (Formerly Holiday Inn Holland)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ottawa County > Holland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Holland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Doubletree Hotel Holland 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Doubletree by Hilton Holland. The Doubletree by Hilton Holland Michigan is a proud member of Hilton Hotels Worldwide. Enjoy all the benefits of the HHONORS® program during your visit to the Holland Area. The Doubletree by Hilton Holland, Michigan is adjacent to Johnson Controls and is within moments of all corporate and manufacturing facilities within the Holland, MI Area. With new, full-service upscale accommodations, the Doubletree by Hilton Holland is located just off U.S. Highway 31 within minutes of beautiful Lake Michigan. Our modern hotel is 35 minutes from Gerald R Ford International Airport (GRR) in Grand Rapids, Michigan and convenient to major manufacturing centers, I-196 and the Holland business district. The Doubletree by Hilton Holland is a warm and inviting hotel where you will be able to enjoy the comforts of:•168 spacious, contemporary guest rooms•High-speed wireless Internet access in all public areas•Indoor, Four-Story Relaxation Center with an Over-Size Swimming Pool, Whirlpool and Fitness Center with the latest in cardio and weight training equipment by Precor®•Dine at the intimate West Coast Grille•Relax and unwind at Coasters Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Holland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Holland
Holland Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree Hotel Holland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.