We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad but not great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree Hotel Holland

Save Saved
You added Doubletree Hotel Holland to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Holland
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   650 E. 24th St., Holland, MI 49423 (Formerly Holiday Inn Holland)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Last Minute Deals!
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Holland
Royal Oak, Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not bad but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The lobby was spacious but was multilevel and seemed a bit wasteful. Nice bar/lounge, tiny convenience outlet, a few good spaces for groups to hang out. Staff was friendly. Room was spacious and clean, fairly comfortable beds, mini-frig, TV. Bathroom was small but clean. One dislike: TV reception was not good - they "did not have cable or satellite yet". Biggest turnoff for me was the proximity to the pool. It was convenient to have a sliding door out to the pool atrium, and the pool was quite nice, but the noise! There was extreme noise from the pool that traveled into our room until the pool closed at 10pm. Breakfast was not included in our package. We paid for the breakfast buffet which was decent but overpriced. Price of room was kind of steep. We found out that if we had booked directly with the hotel front desk we could have gotten a Hope College discount (if you have a student there, which we do) which would have saved us a fair amount from the internet "discounted" price.

Room Tip: If you have a family and want to have good access to the pool, request a poolside room, but be prepa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Holland, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thanks for the kind review of the hotel, we are all big Hope college fans here at the hotel, was great having the NCAA teams here in November . We do offer a Hope college rate here at the hotel which includes the breakfast buffet , it is just one of the many local companies and schools that stay with us. We hope to see you again in the near future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    107
    78
    33
    16
See reviews for
133
84
10
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This was my second 3 day stay at this hotel and both have been exceptional. The beds are amazingly comfortable. The service was great anytime I was looking for a place to eat or directions the front desk was more than happy to help. As a hilton honors member I did get breakfast passes and the breakfast buffet was delicious. A lot of options from fruit to pancakes to bacon and sausage.

The only note I should make is my room had a balcony that opened up to the area where the indoor pool is. There was noise you could here in the room and I was on the 4th floor. It didn't bother me but if you are a light sleeper you might want to ask for a room that doesn't over look the pool.

If traveling to Holland this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, Director of Sales at Doubletree Hotel Holland, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thanks so much for the great review! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope we will have the opportunity to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed at doubletree in Holland MI for a wedding in Oct. The hotel was fairly nice. Had a nice pool and jacuzzi. The staff was friendly. We stayed there along with several other couples and the biggest complaint between all of us, was the bathrooms at the hotel were very small. We had a wedding to go to in Saugatuck and looking back I think we would have been better off staying a little closer to Saugatuck. Nothing to really do in the Holland area. I personally think the hotel was a little pricey, but that's the Hilton name.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, Director of Sales at Doubletree Hotel Holland, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you so much for your review! I appreciate your feedback. I'm glad you were able to enjoy some of our hotel amenities! I'm sorry for the challenges you had with the size of the bathrooms. We are working on a renovation that will increase the usable square footage in the bathrooms for a more comfortable experience.

I hope you have a chance to stay with us again in the future!

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I was in Holland, Michigan for 2 nights on a business trip and found that this hotel met all my needs. Best free wi-fi of any hotel, all my devices (laptop, iphone, ipad) quickly and automatically connected. Great work area. Had a quick dinner in the restaurant and it was very good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, Director of Sales at Doubletree Hotel Holland, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you so much for your review! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. I hope you will visit the hotel again next time you are in Holland!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

In September 2012 we took 4 days to 'chill' at the DoubleTree while visiting local cities [e.g. Grand Rapids, Saugatuck, Holland, Grandville]. The rooms are clean and roomy enough for two! Breakfast was included and MUCH more than the typical continental offerings. Our room overlooked the pool but during the week there was no noise!

I highly recommend this location for easy access to downtown Holland and the freeways!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are nice if you have children wanting to swim!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, Director of Sales at Doubletree Hotel Holland, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you so much for your review! I'm so glad you enjoyed your time spent in beautiful West Michigan. I hope we will have a chance to host you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed here overnight here for a conference being held at the hotel. Great room, great breakfast! We are Hhonors members & loved the chocolate chip cookies. The hotel was very clean & modern. Glad we found this place & we;ll come back & stay here for a vacation too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, Director of Sales at Doubletree Hotel Holland, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for your review! I'm glad we were able to meet your business needs, and look forward very much to hosting you for leisure travel! We will have a warm chocolate chip cookie waiting for you at check in! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

As an HHonors member, I was warmly greeted by a friendly staff member with a walnut chocolate chip cookie, 2 waters in my room and a chocolate. Unfortunately, that's where the good times end. The hallways and guest room are filled with old, musty cooking smells and are in need of modernization. The smells are so pervasive that I am sneezing and I'm concerned that my clothing will smell in the morning. The mattresses need replacement; they are clearly worn and do not offer much support. As a business traveler, I expected more from the Doubletree Brand.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Holland, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thanks for the review, I am sorry about the challenges you had here and am in the process of following up with housekeeping and public area to make sure we are deodorizing properly to address the lingering food smells, we would love to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree Hotel Holland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Holland

Address: 650 E. 24th St., Holland, MI 49423 (Formerly Holiday Inn Holland)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ottawa County > Holland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Holland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Doubletree Hotel Holland 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Doubletree by Hilton Holland. The Doubletree by Hilton Holland Michigan is a proud member of Hilton Hotels Worldwide. Enjoy all the benefits of the HHONORS® program during your visit to the Holland Area. The Doubletree by Hilton Holland, Michigan is adjacent to Johnson Controls and is within moments of all corporate and manufacturing facilities within the Holland, MI Area. With new, full-service upscale accommodations, the Doubletree by Hilton Holland is located just off U.S. Highway 31 within minutes of beautiful Lake Michigan. Our modern hotel is 35 minutes from Gerald R Ford International Airport (GRR) in Grand Rapids, Michigan and convenient to major manufacturing centers, I-196 and the Holland business district. The Doubletree by Hilton Holland is a warm and inviting hotel where you will be able to enjoy the comforts of:•168 spacious, contemporary guest rooms•High-speed wireless Internet access in all public areas•Indoor, Four-Story Relaxation Center with an Over-Size Swimming Pool, Whirlpool and Fitness Center with the latest in cardio and weight training equipment by Precor®•Dine at the intimate West Coast Grille•Relax and unwind at Coasters Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Holland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Holland
Holland Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree Hotel Holland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.