We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't dwell on the negative reviews, this place is fine.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn By Carlson, Holland

Save Saved
You added Country Inn By Carlson, Holland to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn By Carlson, Holland
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12260 James Street, Holland, MI 49424   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book a Business Package
Ranked #11 of 18 hotels in Holland
Toledo, Ohio
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Don't dwell on the negative reviews, this place is fine.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

After booking a room through Hotwire, I read reviews about this place & have to admit that I was a little scared about how our stay might go. It was just fine so don't worry! King bed/pillows were comfy. Everything clean. Pantene toiletries. Front desk help polite. Easy check-in.

Breakfast was included until 10:30am: potatoes, scrambled eggs, sausage links, toast, bagels, oatmeal, cereal, muffins, waffles ... etc. A good variety - something for everyone. I highly appreciated the Coffeemate creamer. Most places don't offer it & it sounds picky, but I wont drink coffee without it!

For the most part the hotel wasn't too noisy w/ the exception of some kids running/screaming a few times & maybe a door or two slamming but that's to be expected. Internet connection was good enough for us to stream a Netflix movie without interruption. GAP outlet & other misc outlets + a movie theater are all within walking distance.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 101 and it was nice. King bed. Clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, General Manager at Country Inn By Carlson, Holland, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of the Country Inn. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and we hope that you will come back to see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    39
    51
    23
    7
See reviews for
46
45
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ludington, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The hotel was very nice except for renovations going on at the hotel. The staff was very nice and were very friendly and helpful. The room was nice except the cleanliness was not very good. There was actual food on the carpet and crumbs on the carpet. There was dust on the dresser and the bath tub DID NOT get cleaned. (It was gross) The pool area needed towels to be picked up and the pool restroom was a mess. When coming into the entrance of the hotel there was a lot of ice that should have been salted. In all a nice hotel but unless they change how it is cleaned, I would not stay there again. That is the sad thing, with the renovations this is going to be a nice updated hotel, but if you cannot have clean rooms, pool area, public restrooms, etc. it is not worth staying there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, General Manager at Country Inn By Carlson, Holland, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Country Inn. I appreciate your feedback and I am working on resolving the cleanliness issue in the rooms. I assure you that if you choose to stay with us again you will be very happy with the changes we are making for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Lugged bags into hotel; told no elevator; room changed to 1st flr. Cool. Snow/ice build up @ door entries. Need to "salt"/shovel to prevent people slips/falling. Around 9:30 pm, sink clogged. Call front desk who would bring plunger. 11:30 pm called again b/c never received plunger. Finally got plunger, which didn't unclog sink. We woke to use toilet & prep for the day @ 6:30 am. BATHROOM FLOODED. Laid towels & plastic bag on flr so could get stuff out of bath. No toilet or shower usage. (See pics on Facebk). Sink filled 2 top w/dirty backed-up water. Our items & blowdryer on sink bottom shelf & entire bath flr wet from sink overflow. Was moved to another room. Assume no one alerted manager of incident b/c NO APOLOGY &/or DISCOUNT FROM MANAGEMENT, so went to speak w/her but was told she won't return until Monday. Will keep you all posted...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, General Manager at Country Inn By Carlson, Holland, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Country Inn. I am so sorry for what happened in your room. I am working diligently with my staff to ensure things like this do not happen in the future. Please call me so I can resolve this with you personally. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was very old fashion..it's like a western theme going on in there..it's very loud being in the rooms you can hear the loddy noise the hallway noise..We had to take the stairs up to are rooms carry heavy bags..little kids always running around, the parents were like this is like a backyard of you know grandpa's house in Tennessee um no parents it's not! lol keep your kids under your supervision were they belong..I did stay here for 2 days as a girls weekend getaway close to were I live from the hotel is like 10 mins away but you defianlty don't wanna stay here for a week..The area where the hotel is located its ok there kind of tucked away in a parking lot area, there's a tons of restaurants near by um a nice movie theatre is like 500ft away from the building theres a gym in the outlet mall close by walking distance, gas stations, big stores to get food..you defianlty have to be old fashion or country to stay here..Again lol I only stayed for 2 days but it was cheap and the last time I stay at a place like this..

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, General Manager at Country Inn By Carlson, Holland, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Country Inn. We are currently in the process of a full renovation which is going to keep the cozy feel with a new modern look. We are renovating in the guest rooms and hallways at this time and then when the rooms are done we are going right into the breakfast area and lobby. We are adding a fitness center and a hot breakfast as well.

I think everyone will love the new look of the Country Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

The Country Inn and Suites is very pretty on the outside and well maintained. The rooms are also clean and attractive. The beds were very comfortable. It is near a mall north of Holland's downtown area, but has plenty of trees and grassy areas surrounding it. It was also very quiet.
We did not need help from the front desk personnel so can't comment on that. They are dog friendly which our two Scottish terriers loved! There are several restaurants within a mile or so
and it is about a five mile drive to Holland State Park Dunes as well as the downtown area. Checkout was also efficient. We felt the breakfast was basic but adequate. There is no elevator to the second floor rooms. Thre is a small indoor pool which seemed to be used a lot. We paid around $300 for three nights-no complaints.

Room Tip: The end rooms may be quieter and have a nice view of the woods.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, General Manager at Country Inn By Carlson, Holland, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Thank you for your recent review of the Country Inn. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will come back to see again in the future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

The front desk clerk had a negative tone & struggled to get us checked in, which put an immediate damper on our stay. We booked the king jacuzzi suite which was cramped & had no place to set your luggage except the floor. I kept running into the ottoman when going around the bed. & I'm a smaller person. The room needed maintenance & updates. The only plus was the tub was roomy & powerful, which was an extra plus when we learned the pool was closed. The breakfast was very basic - only cereal, toast & fruit. We stayed at another Country Inn just 3 nights ago that had eggs, sausage gravy, etc so we were expecting the same here. Will be looking elsewhere when we return to Holland.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, General Manager at Country Inn By Carlson, Holland, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for your recent review of the Country Inn. We are getting ready to start a major renovation within the hotel starting in the guest rooms and hallways. Then onto expanding breakfast and added a hot breakfast to put us with the rest of the Country Inn's. I do hope that next year when the renovation is finished you would give us a second chance to show you what we really have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

This hotel looks charming when you pull up to it and I liked that it was situated in a quiet area away from traffic, but I feel that it is over priced for a hotel of its caliber. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were as clean as they could be for their age, so this place is fine for someone who passing through for the night. The breakfast was fine and there was an attendant there the whole time. We were disappointed because the indoor pool was empty and there was an odor coming from the restrooms across from the breakfast room. Upon checking in the guest should be notified that these things were not addressed, so we probably will not be a repeat guest.

Stayed September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, General Manager at Country Inn By Carlson, Holland, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for your recent review of the Country Inn. I want to let you know that I am working to resolve the issues you mentioned. Also with the renovation coming soon, I do hope that you will give us a second chance to show you what we really have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Country Inn By Carlson, Holland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn By Carlson, Holland

Address: 12260 James Street, Holland, MI 49424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ottawa County > Holland
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 hotels in Holland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn By Carlson, Holland 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
100% non smoking facility.Experience the Comfort of the Country Inn by Carlson Holland, MI. Whether your trip is packed with business or filled with fun, our hotel in Holland, Michigan is a comfortable place to relax at the end of the day. The Country Inn by Carlson Holland offers a versatile array of personal comforts and professional conveniences to help ensure a stress-free vacation, such as free high-speed Internet access, an indoor pool and complimentary breakfast. In addition, this premier hotel's location is near the sparkling waters of Lake Michigan and other attractions such as Neli's Dutch Village, Windmill Island and Veldheer's Tulip Garden. There is something for everyone staying at this hotel in Holland, Michigan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Carlson, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Country Inn By Carlson, Holland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn By Carlson, Holland Hotel Holland
Country Inn Holland
Holland Country Inn
Country Hotel By Carlson Holland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn By Carlson, Holland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.