We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, Great service, Good price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn By Carlson, Holland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn By Carlson, Holland to your Saves list
Country Inn By Carlson, Holland
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12260 James Street, Holland, MI 49424   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book a Business Package
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Holland
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good location, Great service, Good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2008

We arrived early and checked right in. Matt, the front desk clerk was very nice and helpful...he assisted us with directions, a good pizza place, getting more pool towels, etc...and all with a smile. Thanks Matt - friendliness goes a long way.

We were in Holland to visit the Aquatic Center for the day/night. Aquatic Center is a must visit...$4.50 for nonresident all day. It was a bit crowded for Spring Break, but the kids had a blast for hours and slept like babies that night. : )

We were looking for a cheap room (paid $72.00). but with a convenient location. I'll be honest, I book most my hotels based on Trip Advisor reviews and so far, (knock on wood), I have not been led astray! Thank you to all who leave honest reviews!

Room: Good sized. We had a king bed and a sofabed...plently of pillows and blankets and the beds were comfortable. Bath was stocked with plently of towels, some even shaped into flowers.... and was clean! Hotel has seen some wear and was nothing special, but was clean! The heat was a bit goofy...couldn't get it set to a good comfortable temp...either too cold or too hot.

Pool: Small pool, but heated to a very comfortable temp. Shower to rinse off is located in the pool area...bathrooms are also conveniently located near by. No hot tub. We were the only people in the pool at night, which was nice...but could see it getting crowded quickly due to its small size. Open at 6am and closes at 10pm.

Cont, B-fast: We slept in until almost 10am, so we missed the free breaskfast! Looked nice on the website. : )

MISC: Free coffee offered all day in the lobby...which also had a comfy couch and a fireplace going all day/night. Also, bookshelves stocked with books for the reading and a central computer for free use.

Location: Kind of hidden behind a Brann's..so keep an eye out. Movie theater, lazer tag and mall all within site of the hotel. Lots of eating places...a Walmart....overall, great location.

Cons: The only con for me was no fridge in the room...They charge $10 to rent a fridge. Although most rooms do have them, ours didn't. Microwave in the lobby was available for use.

I would stay here again!

  • Liked — Service - Location - Price
  • Disliked — Size of pool - no fridge in room
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    60
    62
    27
    7
See reviews for
77
56
6
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
IN
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2007

The Country Inn is definitely a great place. It is tough to find (tucked in with the shopping outlets, but in the back). We had the room right next to the breakfast room, we were worried about the possible noise in the morning. It wasn't loud at all, this hotel has great insulation. The FREE breakfast is wonderful, but not a secret....many people used it and it was packed on a Sunday morning. The rooms were nice, the bathroom was spacious but not fancy. A great room for the price. The check in staff were very polite and fast. Will definitely stay again!

  • Liked — Breakfast and quiet room
  • Disliked — busy, busy breakfast
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin cities, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2007

We were very disappointed in how clearly we could hear our neighbors talking to one another in normal voice volumes. It was disturbing to think how easily we could be overheard.
The room itself was fine and the bed comfortable and the room and bathroom clean. However, we will never stay here again and may not stay in this hotel chain again if this is the level of privacy they provide.
Minnesota Travelers

  • Liked — Restaurant recommendations
  • Disliked — Thin walls
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbrook, IL
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2007

This place is excellent. Modern faciltiy with spotlessly clean rooms. Beds were among the most comforable ever. Even the bath towels were of high quality. Great air conditioning unit was quiet and fan stays on to minimize noise from compressor cycling. Excellent breakfast included eggs and make-your-own waffles. Friendly check-in with warm cookies in the lobby.

Only problem is finding it. Their address is on James Street but it is so far back you can't see it from James Street. They don't have a sign on James because, they told me, the city won't allow another sign. But this place is worth finding. They are behind Dutch Village which, by the way, is worth visiting as well.

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2007

We were told this was a 3 out of 5 star hotel when we made the reservation. THIS HOTEL IS DEFINITELY A SOLID 5! The beds were the most comfortable we have ever had, the room was extremely clean and spacious, and the front desk accomodated our request for a first floor room as there is no elevator and we had a lot of bags. The breakfast is continental with hot waffles, biscuits and gravy, as well as scramble egg squares. The rest of the breakfast was plentiful and delicious, in comparison to a box of frosted flakes and a gallon of milk found at other properties.

The location is a little tricky to find because it is at the back of a shopping center parking lot and no signs are posted where to turn.

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2007

Having never stayed in a Country Inn we were pleasantly surprised. What a nice relaxed atmosphere...very comfortable beds, very friendly staff, the expanded breakfast was incredible, (everything to eat except meat). A nice little town to stay in with all the amenities,(outlet mall),(Holland Village), yet close enough to the lake, Michigans Adventure and Grand Rapids. We spent alot of time on the covered front porch, coffee/tea and cookies available 24/7. Overall an awesome place to stay especially with children, the security was top notch.

  • Liked — expanded breakfast
  • Disliked — no washer/dryers on site
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn By Carlson, Holland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn By Carlson, Holland

Address: 12260 James Street, Holland, MI 49424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ottawa County > Holland
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Holland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn By Carlson, Holland 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
100% non smoking facility.Experience the Comfort of the Country Inn by Carlson Holland, MI. Whether your trip is packed with business or filled with fun, our hotel in Holland, Michigan is a comfortable place to relax at the end of the day. The Country Inn by Carlson Holland offers a versatile array of personal comforts and professional conveniences to help ensure a stress-free vacation, such as free high-speed Internet access, an indoor pool and complimentary breakfast. In addition, this premier hotel's location is near the sparkling waters of Lake Michigan and other attractions such as Neli's Dutch Village, Windmill Island and Veldheer's Tulip Garden. There is something for everyone staying at this hotel in Holland, Michigan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Carlson, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn By Carlson, Holland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn By Carlson, Holland Hotel Holland
Country Inn Holland
Holland Country Inn
Country Hotel By Carlson Holland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn By Carlson, Holland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.