We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy beds” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn By Carlson, Holland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn By Carlson, Holland to your Saves list
Country Inn By Carlson, Holland
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12260 James Street, Holland, MI 49424   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book a Business Package
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Holland
Lombard,IL
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Comfy beds”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We returned to this hotel several weeks ago after having stayed there once in the past. The room was clean - 2nd floor - no elevators in the building, and the bed was very comfortable. We slept like babies. However, the breakfast was really mediocure at best. Dry cereal, mass produced bagels, coffee and juice. Not good. The price of the room was slightly better than the Holiday Inn or Hampton which is why we chose it this time. Cookies at the front desk upon arrival were better than the breakfast.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    60
    62
    27
    7
See reviews for
77
56
6
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Very clean, friendly staff. Breakfast free...just ok.
Hard to find off highway. They are hoping to get approval for a sign you can actually see from the road. It is right next to Dutch Village

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, Michigan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

We got in after midnight the first night to find our room without the cot they said they would make sure we had. We had to stack a chair the ottoman just to squeeze the cot beside the bed. The next morning in the breakfast area, food and supplies were being delivered and put away while guests were trying to get coffee and eat. They had no creamer, so we had to use some left over skim milk they had in the empty frig. On our second night we had 2 less people, hence not having to have the cot. We asked that it be removed when cleaning the room before we came back from our outing. Needless to say we came back to find the cot still crowding the room. The pool was So cloudy we could not see our feet in a 3-4 foot pool. There was no ventilation, so the small pool area was hotter than the area 90 degree air outside. Needless to say the pool was not refreshing. There was a water fountain in the pool area that was nasty dirty! It looked as if someone had vomited in it Staff on the other hand were very friendly and the area is nice.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011 via mobile

Room was clean but the free breakfast was atrocious! The third day there was almost nothing there!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria Heights, Illinois
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We just returned from a short family trip to Holland. This was our first time staying at a Country Inn, so I cannot compare it to others of the same chain. We typically stay at either Choice Hotels or Holiday Inn Express. When looking for reservations in the area, this room seemed to fit our price point and based on the reviews, we decided to give it a try. We booked our room directly through the hotel and received a discount from the Holland CVB website, so definitely check that out. Without that discount, I would say for the age of the hotel, the size of our room, the less than impressive "deluxe" continental breakfast, and some of the rather unfriendly staff, the rate seemed just a bit too much, but with the discount, it was adequately priced.
The hotel itself is a bit dated and worn, but everything seemed well kept and clean. The hotel is a bit tricky to find as you have to drive all the way through the defunct outlet mall parking lot if you enter from James Street. We did, however find a side entrance off of N. 120th Ave, which was sometimes easier to navigate than James St. as their are no left turns on James, only legal u-turns. The hotel is located adjacent to the Dutch Village, which, if you have kids say 10 & under, you really should take a walk across the parking lot to visit; we had fun. Also, across the parking lot is a movie theater and a arcade/mini golf type place called The Lost City. My husband took my 6 year old there once evening and my husband said it wasn't really much, but our son enjoyed it. (If you go to the Dutch Village and your wrist band will get you one round of Cosmic Golf at Lost City.)
We stayed in a double room and with 2 kids and all of our stuff, we were really on top of each other. Breakfast was advertised as "deluxe" continental. I would say that it was less impressive than breakfast at other hotel chains like Choice or HI Express. Waffles were toaster waffles and the toaster, I might add was about the slowest one around. There were 3 choices for cereal, toast, bagels, English muffins, and oatmeal, along with yogurt and apples and oranges for fruit. In our 3 days worth of breakfast, only one day was the breakfast area unstocked, so I would rate the breakfast slightly below average.
As far as staff is concerned, in the time we were there, I only saw one man working at the desk and I might say, he was the only one who ever said hello or tried to make any bit of conversation. I wish I had paid attention to his name tag so I could mention him here as he was a very nice fellow. The one female who was working the desk the first two days we were there barely even cracked a smile. My son & I spent a little bit of time down in the lobby looking at some books and watching tv and not once did any of the attendants so much as say hello.
All in all, I suppose we might consider staying here again, since the price was right and the location was pretty good for visiting the Dutch Village (which is literally next door) and other sites around town, but if we could get a good rate at the HI Express down the street, we would probably stay there.

Room Tip: Check out the Holland CVB website for a rate discount offer
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Forest, IL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

My only complaint was the condition of the bathroom. It was clean, but it was worn. Many of the floor tiles were cracked, the tub/shower enclosure had been cleaned a few too many times and was dingy and scratched, and the tub had been re-calked kind of sloppy. However, the actual sleeping area was perfect. Beds were comfy, the a/c worked great, the room was quiet. We were next to the ice machine and I worried about the noise but it wasn't a problem. I would recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Adequate for our basic needs. Staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was free, well stocked with a clean area. The room had some stains on the carpet but they refreshed our linens daily. For the price it worked for us for 3 days. Would stay again but it is not up to par like other Country Inns. Holland is awesome and friendly. Hotel hard to find unless you know it sets way back off the road - not a service road but behind a shopping area that appears nearly vacant.

Room Tip: Call direct and ask for any discounts and use coupon from Holland website
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn By Carlson, Holland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn By Carlson, Holland

Address: 12260 James Street, Holland, MI 49424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ottawa County > Holland
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Holland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn By Carlson, Holland 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
100% non smoking facility.Experience the Comfort of the Country Inn by Carlson Holland, MI. Whether your trip is packed with business or filled with fun, our hotel in Holland, Michigan is a comfortable place to relax at the end of the day. The Country Inn by Carlson Holland offers a versatile array of personal comforts and professional conveniences to help ensure a stress-free vacation, such as free high-speed Internet access, an indoor pool and complimentary breakfast. In addition, this premier hotel's location is near the sparkling waters of Lake Michigan and other attractions such as Neli's Dutch Village, Windmill Island and Veldheer's Tulip Garden. There is something for everyone staying at this hotel in Holland, Michigan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Carlson, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn By Carlson, Holland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn By Carlson, Holland Hotel Holland
Country Inn Holland
Holland Country Inn
Country Hotel By Carlson Holland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn By Carlson, Holland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.