We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holland Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Holland Inn & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Holland Inn & Suites
2888 West Shore Drive, Holland, MI 49424 (Formerly Holland Inn & Suites)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Holland
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Average stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed at the Holland Inn & Suites so we could go cross-country skiing. We were there for President's Day weekend and it was sold out the first night. The rooms were quite nice and the staff friendly and helpful. The first night, Saturday, we went to the hot tub at 10pm. There were at least 20 elementary age children in the pool having a great time. I would suggest the hotel have some adult hours so adults can have some quieter, more relaxing time. The second night, Sunday, we were the only ones in the pool area. The breakfast is the reason I gave this hotel an average rating. It had fewer choices than I have seen for a long time - only two types of cold cereal - raisin bran and fruit loops- white bread and mini-bagels with the toaster on the opposite wall from the toast. There was a waffle iron, but on the morning with the sold-out hotel, the line was very long. No boiled eggs or hot entrees. Again, we had no problem with the accomodations, but be prepared for a basic breakfast and perhaps a noisy pool on a Saturday night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    32
    26
    18
    17
See reviews for
49
42
1
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Park Ridge, IL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We booked 3 rooms and stayed 2 nights February 2013. The rooms are very large, suites near 400 sq ft. We did get a great $69-$89 per night rate. Just 2 sets of towels the 1st night-2 were soiled. The next night 2 bath towels but no hand towels. Beds poorly made, Debris, food crumbs and dirt under chair and sofa cushions. Food crumbs and stains on the sofabed mattress. The breakfast is free but, better to skip. 1 waffle iron for the entire hotel, some toast, a plastic container with donut holes and yogurt. You had to keep going to the front desk to ask for items to be refilled. (no one staffed the breakfast area) The counters were a mess and not cleaned until after the 6am-10am time. Nice people but we will not return again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Upon arrival we were pleasantly surprised. An hour or two later, all you know what hit the fan. Fire alarm went off, wow it was loud, I guess its supposed to be like that. All evacuated, fire department showed etc etc. Went out for the night, came back, went to bed and Bang Bang, Thump Thump noises on the 3rd floor through the entire night. Apparently they were renovating the floor (seriously at night??). Went down to enjoy the free continental breakfast...another disppointment. Sparce offerings, stale english muffins, pastries, cereals etc. Coffee almost undrinkable. Orange juice was good. Will not return or recommend this business to others.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

I was a long time guest of The Holland Inn while working in Michigan this year and I was very pleased with this property. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff at the desk was very helpful and friendly and the property was quiet and clean. It has rustic type furnishings like a hunting lodge and the real wood timbers are beautiful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I've stayed at the other hotels in the area, this hotel was by far the cleanest. The price was better as well. rooms are almost brand new. My 8 year old son loved the pool and hot tub. The staff was very friendly and went above and beyond. I could honestly say I would recommend this hotel to everyone I know. I've stayed at Holland Inn and Suites for 4 days and will be back in January. The location was perfect. several choices of places to eat. Just amazing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Sitting in the shadows of two major chain hotels is this beautiful former Best Western hotel just on the north edge of Holland. From the moment we walked in we were impressed with the cleanliness. In talking to Nick the manager/owner, found out he had recently purchased it, and he's restoring it to it's former glory as a Best Western again. For an online booking for two nights we were given a large suite with a very comfortable king bed, flat screen tv, living room couch,fridge, and a small wooden bear hanging on the railing outside our 3rd floor window ,(security guard I guess). Great looking pool/sauna and exercise room area, large breakfast area with delious breakfast. Many restaurants in the area, some just a short walk across the parking lot. We left a scarf and jacket in the closet and Nick was very helpful in returning them to us Would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, MI
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

From the minute I checked in, until we checked out our stay was great. I was a little confused about the room, what it would look like when we got there but we absolutely loved it. We got the whirlpool/fireplace suite and it was delightful. The room has a king size bed in one area (no door)with a TV and hutch, then in a separate living space is a small eating area, and whirlpool tub. Then the larger living area with a pull out couch, two arm chairs and fireplace with a TV on the mantle. The fireplace cranked out some serious heat and we ended up opening up windows to get it cooler. I'm not sure why the hotel doesnt have pictures of this room online, it was wonderful.

The hotel was very clean and smelled pleasant. Every person we came in contact with was wonderful, never had a problem. Breakfast was typical...waffles, oatmeal, cereal and fruit.

The location is great. Meijer/Target at end of street. Shopping center across the street. 6 miles from downtown.

We will stay again if Im back in town!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Holland Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Holland Inn & Suites

Address: 2888 West Shore Drive, Holland, MI 49424 (Formerly Holland Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ottawa County > Holland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Holland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience scenic Lake Michigan and the tranquility it offers at our newly renovated beach town hotel. Named one of the happiest places in the U.S., you can discover Holland and its historic Dutch culture with the fascinating Dutch Village shops, restaurants, and galleries located just half a mile from here. There is no better way to begin your relaxing vacation than at our hotel with luxurious amenities that include, oversized guest rooms, pillowtop mattresses, deluxe hot breakfast, 24-hour indoor pool, hot tub, fitness center and business center. Don't forget your pet can come on vacation with you in our special pet-friendly rooms! From our award-winning downtown to our beautiful lakefront, you'll fall in love with Holland's small town charm and big city amenities. With restaurants in walking distance such as Buffalo Wild Wings(R), Panera Bread(R), and Johnny Carino's(R) and shops nearby this Hope College preferred Holland hotel is in a prime location. Whether you have an adventurous side or if you are looking to unwind during your visit to Holland, there are many fascinating options for everyone. Enjoy your day boating, fishing, hiking, swimming, golfing, shopping, at the museum, or just sunbathing. Holland has many adventurous places to bring the kids as well including Crazy Bounce, Critter Barn, and DeGraaf Nature Center. We are conveniently located near many business travel destinations like Herman Miller, Johnson Controls, Magna Donnelly, Gentex, and Brenner Oil. Book your memorable stay now at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Holland Inn & Suites! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Holland Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holland Hotel Holland
Holland Inn And Suites
Holland Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Holland Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.