We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey- not sure what the inside looks like” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alpenrose Restaurant and Cafe

Alpenrose Restaurant and Cafe
4 East 8th Street, Holland, MI 49423
616-393-2111
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 195 Restaurants in Holland
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pricey- not sure what the inside looks like”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

When we went on a Friday night, the restaurant was booked for a wedding reception. Good for them, but interesting choice during the summer peak season. Outdoor seating was on the street where they had about 8 tables.

Food was good, but pricey for what you get.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    61
    29
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The tables.. ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

The tables have to be the most uncomfortable table I have ever tried to use to eat dinner. I went with my grandmother for girls night and we both were pleased with the food, the service was okay but it's hard to enjoy when you have no where to put your feet for the goofy bars under the table.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Oily pasta, inattentive service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We ate al fresco, which was really great on the street in Holland. The people watching was fun. However, the waitress was also people watching, and greeting her friends as they passed by, so she took her sweet time getting us our food, and it was somewhat cold by the time we got it. She didn't come back to check on us, either. The entrees we had tasted okay (I LOVED the taste of the mashed potatoes, even though they were luke warm) but my pasta was super oily, to the point where there was a pool of grease on the bottom of the plate. The taste was fine. The prices were sort of medium, not too outrageous, but not a bargain, either. I might return, sit inside, and order some of the more traditional Austrian/German fare just to try it. I would hope for a different server.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Stopped in as a last minute decision to eat dinner. This was the cutest place and had great food. I had the spinach and artichoke dip and the stuffed chicken. The price was a little high, but the food made up for it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“AMAZING!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We started out with the BEST goulash ever. What great spices in this hearty soup!! Then we shared the Walleye and the Jager Snitzel. All I can say is AMAZING. Both dishes were great and don't miss the fresh bread with the oil and balsamic vinegar. To die for!!

And the restaurant is beautiful and the service was beyond great.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alpenrose Restaurant and Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Alpenrose Restaurant and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpenrose Restaurant and Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.