We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great buffet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alpenrose Restaurant and Cafe

Alpenrose Restaurant and Cafe
4 East 8th Street, Holland, MI 49423
616-393-2111
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 195 Restaurants in Holland
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Another great buffet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Another season and another great buffet. Again I say they have real Chef's making real food. They have great pastries also. The buffet is always a great price and the food is so good. Lots of items to try.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    61
    29
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Bad Service - Twice in a Row”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

We visted the restaurant in December to celebrate the holidays with another couple with whom we often dine out. Waited 40 minutes for a table because the hostess "accidentally skipped" our name. Mistakes happen. However, we didn't get a glass of water, cup of coffee, or drink for over 25 minutes after we sat down. The service for the remainder of the evening was just as slow. Since it was a busy Saturday night and our waiter harried but at least apologetic, we decided we'd give the restaurant a second chance. Went back in March for a mid-week birthday lunch with the same couple. Restaurant wasn't busy, but the hostess sat us in a back area next to an open bi-fold door that looked into a banquet room that was a terrible mess. The waitress had a terrible attitude. Our request for a second round of wine was grudgingly fulfilled and she clearly wanted us to order the lunch buffet rather than off the menu. The four of us expect better service and an overall better dining experience from a restaurant that charges $3 a cup for coffee and advertises itself as "elegant dining." The food is OK - albiet a bit overpriced for what you get - but given the overall disappointing dining experiences both times, we won't go back.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“can't pass up the deserts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

We always take half the meal home so we can save room for deserts. The chocolate cake is delicious. In the summer the fruit creations offer a freshing conclusion to a good meal. We've had all the chicken and fish entrees that have ever shown up on the menu and never been disappointed. Served hot with the appropriate amount of spicy. Ask for dressing on the side just to make sure you can control how much you consume.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

One of my daughters favorite places in Holland to grab a sandwich and coffee. Perfect if you can get the seat near the window and people watch. I particularly love the dessert selection (shortbread with chocolate middle is out of this world!) and always find the cafe staff nice and helpful.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zeeland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Pricey but nice with one exception.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

We went on a Tuesday night and were promptly seated in an attractive smaller room with a few others. The room was a bit noisy with no material to absorb the noise of active conversation from other tables. Service was very good, prompt, helpful but not overbearing. We all had the Harvest Salad (spinach,apples,cheddar,walnuts) which was very good as was the mushroom soup. For an entre we chose the two forms of schnitzel
and also the pork medalions (that actually turned out to be cutlets). The food came as generous servings, and was quite good, with one exception. One of my schnitzel cutlets was among the best I've had but, oddly, the other had a distinct fishy taste leaving me to believe it was cooked with something left over in the pan from a previous fish preparation. Normally that would have put me off but the rest was quite good so I'd still rate this a worthy place to eat.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alpenrose Restaurant and Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Alpenrose Restaurant and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpenrose Restaurant and Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.