We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive for what you get” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Windmill Island - De Zwaan Windmill

Windmill Island - De Zwaan Windmill
1 Lincoln Ave, Holland, MI 49423
616-355-1030
Website
Improve this listing
Michigan Center, Michigan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Expensive for what you get”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

I've always wanted to like Windmill Island but it is the same now as 20 years ago when I went the first time. Tulip Time is when to go, since the flowers are all in bloom & they have extra programming. The rest of the year is just "meh." The one thing going for it is that they have a real miller who works in the windmill, still grinding grains into flours you can buy on the Island. She trained in the Netherlands, loves what she does, and loves teaching about the mill. If you're interested in that, then it is definitely worth a visit. I think it is worth one visit, but I generally don't go unless they have a free admission day.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    99
    54
    12
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Indiana
Top Contributor
463 reviews 463 reviews
277 attraction reviews
Reviews in 240 cities Reviews in 240 cities
274 helpful votes 274 helpful votes
“Bite the dollar bullet and go!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Yes, at 7 dollars a pop it can be expensive but to me it was worth the money because of the great pictures we got. With the Windmill in the distance and the Tulips,beautiful! You can go to the top of the windmill and get the history from a guide and a nice view for yourself. Their are shops to go in that are quite interesting and I think at the end of the day you'll be glad you went to the Island.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
58 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Beautiful place to visit. Very clean. We learned alot about the Dutch heritage and culture.
We would recommend going here.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
85 attraction reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Dutch in America”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

There is a lot of Dutch to see, experience, and learn about in a visit to Windmill Island in Holland, Michigan. An authentic Dutch windmill disassembled, freighted over, and reassembled by craftsmen from the Netherlands dominates this collection of buildings in a recreation of a village in the Netherlands. Dioramas, authentic food, and displays keep the attention of adults and children alike. The highlight of the visit however will be a tour of the windmill and explanation of how it works. Buy some freshly stone ground flour to take home. In the late spring enjoy a flood of tulips in the numerous beds changed over to annuals when summer comes. One reasonably priced entrance fee lets you enjoy it all.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Quiet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

September is really slow in Holland. This is a pretty kitchy spot and more so without tulips. The pictures I got were really nice because there are no strangers cluttering them up. The young tour guide at the windmill was very earnest but the Klompen dancers (all female) seemed as bored with their routine as I was.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Windmill Island - De Zwaan Windmill also viewed

Holland, Ottawa County
Holland, Ottawa County
 
Holland, Ottawa County
Holland, Ottawa County
 

Been to Windmill Island - De Zwaan Windmill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windmill Island - De Zwaan Windmill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.