We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hang out place, noise level is loud!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of 84 East

84 East
84 E 8th St, Holland, MI 49423-3504
616-396-8484
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 194 Restaurants in Holland
Cuisines: American, Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good hang out place, noise level is loud!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

I ate here tonight. Are waiter didn't tell us his name lol, he forgot a lot of things we had to wait 15 mins for 7 drinks !? He forgot for some bread when placed are order and the words just flew out of his ears cause he didn't bring it out for about 25 mins later then are food about 10mins later. I got a Great American Burger minus the tomato and onion. My burger was burnt I took the meat out cause I smelt the burnt pieces and cut all the burnt pieces off. Ate some burnt pieces cause I thought I got them all off and it ruined the meal so that's when I took the meat off my bun and I cut up the good meat and ate it separately and I ate the 2 buns together. I asked for a water and never got it and the guy rarely came to are table to ask us anything he didn't ask us how are meal was. He was very nice and sweet but I don't think he had much waiter experience. It was busy tonight and the level of people talking was so loud I rarely could take I didn't wanna feel like I was shouting a crossed the table. I will be back here I usually come here for my birthday with family. But I will just order something different.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    27
    13
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Spaghetti Pie!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

This is the best baked spaghetti I have ever had. Get extra sauce. Cozy inside. The other food is fine, but not the point. My family tried to sell me on this for years, but now I am hooked; I am now trying to reverse-engineer the recipe.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanton, Ohio
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Winter Evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We had the Baked Spaghetti Pie, which is their special menu item. It is basically a brick of spaghetti which is prepared like and tastes like lasagna. It was a hearty and filling meal.The Caesar Salad was good. The creamed asparagus soup was great.With a beer the total for two people was $30.00. Staying at the Haworth Inn we had a five dollar coupon making date night great for 25 bucks. It was very busy on Friday night with many locals as well as visitors in the downtown area. Many great shops up and down the street as well as many other restaurants.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota, United States
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Emphasis on the Appetizers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Was visiting lovely Holland MI on business this week and dined at this casual restaurant in the heart of downtown Holland. The spaghetti pie was an awesome dinner but to start, our group shared the most outstanding apps. We had fried ravioli, mozzarella sticks, cheese bread with pesto, and the most awesome grilled portabello mushroom with garlic and herbs. Give it a try for an inexpensive group meal in a fun setting.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Top Contributor
282 reviews 282 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“This is my go to in Holland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

This restaurant has great food that fits any occasion, and really, any budget with their specials. My husband and I have done special occasions here, including our first date and it is a great place to meet up with friends. The atmosphere is calm, quiet, friendly, great for families, couples, and even large gatherings of friends. Recommend their Tuxedo Chicken, any of their salads, and finish off with the world's smallest sundae. My Friends and I absolutely love their carbonara also!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 84 East also viewed

Holland, Ottawa County
Holland, Ottawa County
 

Been to 84 East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 84 East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.